Prong – 100% Live

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: April 2003
Released: 2003, Locomotive Music
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: EvilG

I’ve became a fan of Prong when I heard the track “Beg To Differ” and the album of the same name back in 1990. Prong were definitely a band way ahead of their time. Back then there was no one like Prong and I remember playing the albums BEG TO DIFFER and PROVE YOU WRONG to death when they came out. Unfortunately the band packed it in around 1997 just after the release of their album RUDE AWAKENING in 1996. After that the only time I saw Mr. Victor was with Danzig playing music nothing like Prong. When I read about the band’s imminent return I was hoping for a new studio album, NOT a live album. So the news did not excite me as much as it could have. This live album came out last year in 2002 and I’ve heard very little about the band’s return or how this album went over. Their return was very low-key. In fact, I didn’t even bother to buy this CD because I had most of these songs on their studio albums. So when the CD showed up in the mail, I was interested to hear it, but still I am waiting for a new studio album of HEAVY, hopefully groove-thrash orientated, material from Prong.

The recordings for this live album come from what I assume is two live shows from Detroit and Chicago. The band that is calling themselves Prong now only has one original member left and that is vocalist/guitarist Tommy Victor. Even former drummer, Ted Parsons is absent from this new Prong line-up. Despite the lack of members from past line-ups, this sounds like Prong of course since Tommy Victor IS Prong. The live album has 14 tracks of material covering such greats as “Rude Awakening”, “Snap Your Fingers Snap your Neck”, “Whose Fist Is This Anyway?”, “Unconditional”, and thankfully “Beg To Differ”. I wouldn’t of minded more tracks for this unheralded classic album of the same name though!!

There is one new song on 100% LIVE called “Initiation” that didn’t really grab me. The band are supposed to be working on a new album, but their official site has their news section talking about the release of this live album from October 2002. I’ve read that Tommy has again committed to the touring line-up for Danzig. I hope this does not mean that the Prong reunion was a one off damn it!!!!


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
01. Another Worldly Device
02. Disbelief
03. Beg To Differ
04. Initiation
05. Broken Peace
06. Prove You Wrong
07. Close The Door
08. Rude Awakening
09. Controller
10. Snap Your Fingers, Snap Your Neck
11. Cut Rate
12. Unconditional
13. Dark Signs
14. Whose Fist Is This Anyway

Tommy Victor – vocals and guitars
Monte Pittman – guitars
Brian Perry – bass
Dan Laudo – drums


About EvilG 11698 Articles
Owner of