Mendeed – Killing Something Beautiful E.P.

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: April 2003
Released: 2003, Independent
Rating: 2.5/5
Reviewer: Rick

Hailing from Glasgow this 5-man band was formed in 2000 to create music that they felt was lacking in the scene. After playing numerous support gigs Mendeed was signed to the JMG Agency in London. The band then played their first shows in England which helped to get their music to a wider audience. The band then went into the studio to record this E.P. It consists of 4 songs that are full of rage and angst created by the band mebers who are Dave Proctor – Vocals, Chris Lavery – Bass, Steph Gildea – Guitars, Steven Nixon – Guitars, Kevin Matthews – Drums. The disc is kicked off by the title track. This is a pretty straightforward almost trashy track that contains lots of great riffing with some excellent drum work by Matthews. “Parasite” is a groovier track that brings to mind Machinehead. Proctor drops the aggressive vocals in favour of what I can only call a whine. It ruins what was otherwise a pretty good track. The last full song on the disc is “Reticence”. Again the aggression factor is high on this song and again this is almost an old school thrash song. Good track that shows that this band has some promise.

I am of 2 minds about this CD. When the guys stick to an aggressive sound the sound are much more effective. At time Procter slips his voice into a nasally whine which brings to mind System of a Down. That belongs nowhere near a metal record. The band can certainly play. They seem to have a Jeckyl and Hyde thing going on. All they have to do is decide which side of the evil coin the want to show.


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
01. Killing Something Beautiful
02. Parasite
03. Reticence
04. No Escape

Dave Proctor – Vocals
Chris Lavery – Bass
Steph Gildea – Guitars
Steven Nixon – Guitars
Kevin Matthews – Drums