Entwine – Time of Despair

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: June 2002
Released: 2002, Spikefarm
Rating: 5.0/5
Reviewer: Anders Sandvall

Entwine are:
Aksu Hanttu-drums
Tom Mikkola-guitar
Joni Miettinen-bass
Ritta Heikkonen-keyboards
Mika Tauriainen-lead vocals

Anssi Kippo has produced Entwine\’s record for the third time. The record was recorded in the Astia-studio A as the other records they have made. Anssi has made a real success this time with the sound picture and the production, even better than with the two records before. This is a masterpiece. One of the best gothic metal productions so far this year, in my opinion.

Mika impresses a lot and he has a marvelous voice. Paradise Lost has once again inspired the band as on the first record. The guitars have more space in the mix. No track is bad, the songs show the same high quality all the way through. My favorites on this record are first the faster ones “Stream of life” and “The Pit” and then the ballad “Safe in a dream”. Then there is the title track and “Nothing Left To Say”. My copy of the record is limited edition, so I have two extra songs on my version which are called “Tonight” – a brilliant production and a cover on a Kiss track – “Tears Are Falling”. I find this version better than the original.

Entwine still has lots of changes of tempo in every song and they are very technical. Everyone in the band impresses me. With TIME OF DESPAIR Entwine can gain more ground and become really, really great. They deserve it! There may be some trouble to top a record like this one because this is ultimate and brilliant and I love this record. Great job people!


No Videos Available

Track Listing: