Improvision – Energy

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: December 1999
Released: 1999, Intromental Management
Rating: 2.5/5
Reviewer: Rick

I have been wrestling with how to describe this band. Are they Progressive Metal? Progressive Rock? I think they are a bit of both. Improvision hail from Norway and were formed in 1994. The current lineup consists of founding members Pal A.Svennevig on drums, vocalist Tor Ola Svennevig, guitarist Dylan R. Hopkin and additional musicians Bjøørn Thomassen, Bass and Magnus ØØstvang on Keyboards. “Energy” is the third release from the band and they are at work on a full length CD for a release in the near future.

This CD is a 4 track EP. The 4 tracks are “Ageing Years”, “Where are the Now”, “Think”, and “Fate Controller” All of the tracks contain numerous tempo changes thus the progressive tag. Of the songs, “Think” is the best. Its numerous clean guitar passages call to mind Dream Theater. “Energy” suffers however in that in all the songs they seem to try to become too progressive and sacrifice some of the songs feeling to fit in another time change or melodic bridge. The guitars also sound to much like the new wave of rap/metal pretenders such as Korn and Soulfly. This only happens in a few places but its enough to detract from the songs. Finally, the vocals need work. While not at all bad they are just unimpressive. The vocalist seems to have all the tools to do an awesome job but he just seems to be holding back. While this CD didn’t impress me, I do see a future for these guys if they do a bit of work on the vocals and get rid of all the alterna-metal wannabe guitar work.


No Videos Available

Track Listing: