Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

The Ocean
October 2013
Released: 2013, Metal Blade Records
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Waspman

Hailing from Berlin, The Ocean have made quite a name for themselves in the last decade by releasing some of the most critically loved progressive metalcore/hardcore ever released. Albums like PRECAMBRIAN (an astounding 99% rating on Metal-Archives!) have given the band an almost mythical reputation. It seems that despite a ridiculous number of member changes over the years, band leader Robin Staps has maintained his focus and drive.

PELAGIAL is the band’s sixth full-length album, and first that actually deals (if only metaphorically) with their namesake. Each track is titled after one of the aquatic layers but indeed, this is one of those albums that is better taken as a whole, without picking nits as to stand out tracks etc. It’s quite a ride too, as The Ocean takes us through an incredible number of moods, speeds, and emotions over the 53-minute runtime. The band’s sound is quite progressive and freeform for sludgy hardcore, and in truth, not overly heavy. As this is my first time hearing the band, I will not pretend to be an expert on their music, but I was struck by how “”free” they sound. While they do have verses & choruses etc., the whole album just flows into one large piece of music. Some of the longer pieces, such as “Hadopelagic II: Let Them Believe” or “Demersal: Cognitive Dissonance” can linger too long, but it’s a minor quibble.

After years of reading about how great The Ocean is, I was excited to finally hear their music. While I’m not completely on board with what they’re doing, PELAGIAL is certainly an experience worthy of praise and one that I’m sure the band’s fans can pick up without fear.
Track Listing

1. Epipelagic
2. Mesopelagic: The Uncanny
3. Bathyalpelagic I: Impasses
4. Bathyalpelagic II: The Wish in Dreams
5. Bathyalpelagic III: Disequillibriated
6. Abyssopelagic I: Boundless Vasts
7. Abyssopelagic II: Signals of Anxiety
8. Hadopelagic I: Omen of the Deep
9. Hadopelagic II: Let Them Believe
10. Demersal: Cognitive Dissonance
11. Benthic: The Origin of Our Wishes


Loic Rossetti: Vocals
Robin Staps: Guitar
Jona Nido: Guitar
Chris Breuer: Bass
Louis Jucker: Bass
Luc Hess: Drums



Other reviews

» Pelagial
by Waspman

Next review: » The Silent Wedding - Livin' Experiements
Previous review: » Temple Nightside - Condemnation

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.