Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Death To False Disco Metal
November 2013
Released: 2013, Independent
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Celtic Bob

Back in 2009 I reviewed the debut by Tragedy which had caught me by surprise. Now here we are at the end of 2013 and their 3rd album has just been released. This time around it’s not all Bee Gees tunes but still heavily from that era. 

The disc starts off with the sounds of rain, thunder and Slayer, as any Disco Metal album should. It then breaks into the old The Weather Girls tune “It’s Raining Men” which was a big solo a few years back for one of the Spice Girls. The other big name from that era takes a hit, you guessed it.......ABBA. The two ABBA tracks that get covered are “Gimme! Gimme! Gimme!” and “Dancing Queen”, which are excellent. Growing up as a kid in the 70‘s with 2 older sisters I was subject to the likes of ABBA, Bee Gees, Shaun Cassidy, Leif Garrett...etc. Kiss are covered with their Disco song “I Was Made For Loving You” and this isn’t too far off from the original in many places and the whip sounds just add to the fun.

Singer Barry Glibb just nails it and sounds like Barry Gibb of the Bee Gees which adds to the fun of this album. All of the members are extremely talented musicians and make the songs more than just cover songs. They change them up, mash them up and make them new. After listening to this album I went and checked out their site and watched the video for the first song, “It’s Raining Men”. It is quite the interesting video to watch and I will leave it at that. In a couple places the vocals sound very familiar. You know the voice from years back but cannot pinpoint it. 80’s Metal singer?

Either way you look at it, Tragedy is a great band even if more of a novelty than anything else. They are excellent at what they do and that is inject some humor and fun into music by combining the greatest genre in music with possibly the worst.
Track Listing

1. It's Raining Men
2. Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! (A Man After Midnight)
3. Believe
4. Kc/Dc & The Sunshine Band
5. Taking The 5Th On Disco Mountain
6. I Was Made For Lovin' You
7. Dancing Queen
8. Off The Wall
9. I Wanna Dance With Somebody
10. Total Eclipse Of The Heart
11. I Was Made For Lovin' You (German)


Barry Glibb -- lead vocals, lead back-up vocals, lead rhythm guitar
Mo'Royce Peterson -- lead vocals, lead back-up vocals, lead lead guitar
Disco Mountain Man -- lead vocals, lead back-up vocals, lead keyboards, lead cowbell
Andy Gibbous Waning -- lead bass, lead vocals, lead back-up vocals
The Lord Gibbeth -- lead drums



Next review: » Trunk, Eddie - Eddie Trunk's Essential Hard Rock And Heavy Metal Volume II (Book Review)
Previous review: » Tor Marrock - Destroy The Soul

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.