Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Heresy And Creed
November 2012
Released: 2012, Frontiers Records
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Waspman

I’m a huge fan of Ten’s 2011 release, STORMWARNING. That album is a near-perfect elixir of the band’s noted hard rock sound and contained some of their strongest songs ever. Given that HERESY AND CREED is the band’s tenth studio full length, I was psyched for to hear what Gary Hughes and co. had concocted for such a landmark release.

As it turns out, based on many listens to the album, the band decided to simply create another Ten record, which is never a bad thing - it just means we get more classic Ten to enjoy! As you’d expect, the band is in fine form, sounding crisp and clear as always. Oddly, Hughes’ vocals sound a little laidback somehow, not bad, but not quite fiery either. Don’t get me wrong, he’s not suddenly turned into a crappy vocalist or anything – he’s still quite good, but it almost sounds like something is missing this time around.

Similarly, the songs lack the fiery immediacy of STORMWARNING or THE NAME OF THE ROSE. While there are a number of instant hits like “Arabian Nights”, “Gunrunning” or “Insatiable”, there are other songs that I still can’t recall the riffs or choruses to after a month with this album. Even so, some of the laid back songs are also quite good, like the dreamy, lilting “Raven’s Eye” and “Another Rainy Day”, but even these songs don’t rival the best that the band’ previous album offered.

Although I’m mildly disappointed by this disc, it’s still a solid addition to the Ten catalogue and should please the band’s legion of fans.
Track Listing

1. The Gates of Jerusalem
2. Arabian Nights
3. Gunrunning
4. The Lights Go Down
5. Raven’s Eye
6. Right Now
7. Game of Hearts
8. The Last Time
9. The Priestess
10. Insatiable
11. Another Rainy Day
12. Unbelievable
13. The Riddle


Gary Hughes: Vocals, Guitar, Programming
Dan Mitchel: Guitar
John Halliwell: Guitar
Steve McKenna: Bass
Darrel Treece-Birch: Keyboards
Max Yates: Drums



Next review: » The Devil - The Devil
Previous review: » Suture - Skeletal Vortex (Remaster)

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.