Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Stagnant Waters
Stagnant Waters
November 2012
Released: 2012, Adversum Release
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: UK Team

Stagnant Waters are a French-Norwegian experimental black metal band who formed only in 2010 have just released their self-tilted debut album this month, and I have to say I was not expecting to hear what I heard!

Tbh I don’t really know where to start trying to describe this band…except for they’re totally insane with a mixture of bizarre sounds and noise. They have been described as producing a kind of mutant music, which is firmly rooted in extreme metal! Personally when I think of extreme metal, I automatically think Death Metal, but these guys certainly have their own unique sounds showing a mix of scathing guitars, electronics, dadaistic improvisation, uncompromising complexity, and unnatural tempos, with a mixture of different vocal styles.

The band consists of Norwegian vocalist Svein Egil "Zweizz" Hatlevik (Fleurety, Umoral, ex-DHG/Dødheimsgard), drummer/electronics operator/clarinetist Aymeric Thomas (Pryapisme), and guitarist/bassist Camillle Giraudeau (Dreams of the Drowned, Smohalla).

For me track 8 ‘From the breaking neck to infinity’ is the best on there as it sounds typical dirty black metal and I loved this track, but still shows a lot of different sounds and although still chaotic it’s one impressive track! There are also some wonderfully beautiful sounds hidden in the tracks of this album and you need to give it a listen more than once to fully appreciate it!

The band stated they wanted to record a spontaneous, experimental, and energetic album, with an animalistic celebration of unfettered creativity….Well for me this band shows so much diversity and energy I thought I was going to have a seizure just listening to it!

I really can’t think what genre of metallers out there who will appreciate this kind of mixed up sounds, but the band are definitely unique, I will give them that and the more I listened to this album the more it grew on me.

Personally, I love what the guys have created here, but I can imagine there being mixed reviews on this one, and although I was intrigued to hear what all the tracks held this won’t be an album I would want to listen to too much, but I will certainly give them points for originality and there really are some great bits to this insane album, so give them a try!

So, if you like your music to sound more like a mixture of different songs, all of which have just puked up on each other, then this is certainly an album for you!

Review by Jo Blackened
Track Listing

1. Algae
3. Of Salt and water
4. Castles
5. Concrete
6. Bandaged in suicide notes
7. Axolotl
8. From the breaking neck to infinity


Svein Egil Hatlevik: Vocals
Camille Giraudeau: Guitars, Bass,
Keyboards, Vocals
Aymeric Thomas: Drums, Electronics,
Keyboards, Sax, Clarinets

Other reviews

» Stagnant Waters
by UK Team

Next review: » Steel Panther - British Invasion (Blu-Ray)
Previous review: » Skelator - Agents Of Power

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.