Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Guilty Of Everything
May 2014
Released: 2014, Relapse
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: UK Team

Shoe-Gaze, that odd Alternative Rock Sub Genre that originated during the late 1980’s working well for bands such as Bullet For My Valentine and Slowdrive but what’s even more odd is a shoe-gaze band signed to a Metal label. Maybe Relapse Records are trying to cause some controversy, could they be trying to broaden their musical spectrum or is it just they have a lot of faith in Nothing, not literally but the band from Kensington Philadelphia.

Nothing formed by ex Horror Show vocalist Dominic ‘Nicky’ Palermo who after serving a two year sentence for aggravated assault and attempted murder decided to turn a new leaf and leave the hardcore punk lifestyle behind him, after a lengthy hiatus from music he decided to give it another shot but went a completely different direction thus Nothing was born.

After a changeable line up and a few EP’s later the rather interesting 9 track LP ‘Guilty Of Everything’ was released in March 2014.

It’s fair to say that although this is most defiantly not Metal it is clear why Relapse have signed these lads, throughout the LP expect immense drumbeats and amp shaking riffs, the opener ‘Hymn to the Pillory’ is an instant attention grabber as is ‘Sommersault’ and ‘Beat Around The Bush’ the lyrics are hard to hear within the verses until powerful heavy choruses burst through with angelic hypnotising melodies, still the Metal argument may arise.

While ‘Get Well’ ‘Dig’ and ‘Bent Nail’ show off the massive punk and grunge influence perhaps Palermo hasn’t entirely forgotten his punk roots. ‘Get Well’ is the best track on the LP it could even be mistaken as the work of Smashing Pumpkins. Throughout the album you will hear raw and honest lyrics, many influenced by Palermo’s time in Jail.

If the record could be diagnosed it would be described as being Bipolar when it’s up it’s awesome but when it’s down, it’s down. The choruses are so intense they can be overwhelming at times, in a good way though. It’s not an album you’d put on for background music if you had friends around it will require your full attention and a few listens to get the appreciation it deserves and you won’t be sorry you did, forget Shoe-Gaze, Nu-Gaze describes it better.

Review by Nadean Daley
Track Listing

1. Hymn To The Pillory
2. Dig
3. Bent Nail
4. Endlessly
5. Somersault
6. Get Well
7. Beat Around The Bush
8. B&E
9. Guilty of Everythin


Vocalist Dominic ‘Nicky’ Palermo
(the rest has been changeable)



Next review: » Omery Rising - Lady Snow
Previous review: » Nocturnal Breed - Napalm Nights

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.