Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Circle of suffering
May 2014
Released: 2014, Hammerheart Records
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: UK Team

Iceland's ANGIST are now re-releasing their 2011 EP Circle of Suffering through Hammerheart Records, along with two bonus tracks taken from the band's promotional demo. The band play a very traditional take on classic Death Metal that draws influence from MORBID ANGEL, DEATH, IMMOLATION and ENTOMBED, just to name a few. On some instances, though, there also seems to be a Doom Metal vibe to some of the slower arrangements, as well as a tendency to use guitar melodies that may remind some of MY DYING BRIDE and PARADISE LOST, evident in songs like "Silence" and the middle parts of "Godless".

For a five track EP, there's lots of variation to be found in Circle of Suffering, as the band like to infuse some technical stuff into their songs as well. Vocals are of the low-growl variety, courtesy of guitarist/vocalist Edda Tegeder Óskarsdóttir. The opening title track immediately throws listeners into the dark world of ANGIST. Either playing fast or slow tempos, the band achieve a nice obscure atmosphere through its choice of arrangements. The production on both sets of songs is clear, yet with a dark edge which aids the band in creating a nice ambience throughout.

If ANGIST ever manage to record a full length release, this is evidence that audiences of old school Death Metal should not pass it up. I also hope that the band continues using this style of production, as it suits their material so well. Overall, a nice EP that definitely deserved to be re-issued, and is now available for anyone who is interested in a nice slab of classic Death Metal.
Track Listing

1. Circle of Suffering
2. Godless
3. Silence
4. Unwelcome Thoughts
5. Death Incarnate
Bonus Tracks:
6. Rotten Mind
7. Our Ruin


Edda Tegeder Óskarsdóttir - Vocals/Guitar
Gyða Hrund Þorvaldsdóttir - Guitar
Haraldur Ingi Shoshan - Bass
Tumi Snær Gíslason - Drums

Other reviews

» Circle of suffering
by UK Team

Next review: » Annihilator - Refresh The Demon
Previous review: » Ancient Ascendant - Echoes and Cinder

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.