Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Gun Barrel
Damage Dancer
May 2014
Released: 2014, Massacre Records
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Erich

Gun Barrel is shot right from the same headspace as VH1’s 2006 show SUPERGROUP (check it out if you missed it; it is entertaining). Jason Bonham had one of the most memorable lines in the show when he returned from a tour to the band house to find Sebastian Bach had labeled a demo tape with the band name FIST, Bonham stated “I just hope we we’re not called Fist.” While the name Gun Barrel must have stirred similar reactions on band-naming day, DAMAGE DANCER is a welcome dose of gritty, protein packed metal. Forged in the fire of 80s Teutonic metal and fused with the good timey spirit of Krokus and AC/DC, any traces of power metal tendencies are virtually erased on this new album.

Gun Barrel offers direct and in-your-face songs such as the chugging and faster title track for fans of the heavier side of the band. However, the band really finds its stride and hooks on the more straight ahead rock tunes like the catchy “Bashing Thru.” Interspersed in several places are nods to the band’s influences such as Thin Lizzy on “Judgment Day”, AC/DC on “Passion Rules”, and the southern and sleazy spiced “Back Alley Ruler.” On this, his second album with the band, Patrick Sühl’s vocals are the perfect complement to this slab of drinking man’s metal, while Rolf Tanzius delivers massive tone on this very guitar-centric album.

Not hurting things in the least is the excellent sound quality delivered by the respected Tommy Hansen, his mastering giving these songs the requisite punch to succeed. Admittedly, there is no new territory explored here, and at some points the songs begin to blend into a big happy blur. However, if you are looking for metal that is the equivalent of a cholesterol-laden burger and tasty pint of beer then look no further. Fans of Krokus, Sinner, Accept and Thin Lizzy who have not yet discovered the band are in for a welcome addition to their listening collection.
Track Listing

1. Intro

2. Damage Dancer

3. Bashing Thru

4. Judgement Day

5. Passion Rules

6. Building A Monster

7. Heading For Disaster

8. Ride The Dragon

9. Whiteout

10. Back Alley Ruler

11. Vultures Are Waiting

12. Rise Up To The Storm


Patrick Sühl - Vocals
Rolf Tanzius - Guitar
Tomcat Kintgen - Bass
Toni Pinciroli - Drums

Other reviews

» Power-Dive
by Pete

» Outlaw Invasion
by Anders Sandvall

» Brace For Impact
by Waspman

» Damage Dancer
by Erich

Next review: » Hark - Crystalline
Previous review: » Gluttony - Beyond the Veil of Flesh

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.