Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Godless Arrogance
March 2014
Released: 2014, Hammerheart Records
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: UK Team

Sammath are a Dutch black metal band formed in 1994, they have released 4 albums all on Germany’s Folter records. This, their fifth full-length is also the first for the much-revered Hammerheart label. What is served up here is a vicious, feral feat of pure black metal.

The first track, Shot In Mass is very much a statement of intent, with Kruitwagen screaming as if the world is about to implode around him. The turmoil which is served up from hereon in is pretty relentless, with Through Filth and the Remains of Man having the only slight let up to this pace in the mid-section. However the band set themselves apart from many of their peers by going for what is, comparatively speaking very much a defined production job, each instrument is allowed more room to breathe and shine through.

Indeed one of my favourite parts of the album is the scuzzy bass sound which is especially evident on closing track, Nineteen Corpses Hanging in the Mist. This for me does not detract from the cold frostbitten feel of the album but, rather leads to a more rounded sound with the listener being allowed to hear exactly where each instrument is in the mix. It does give some of the riffs on the album an almost old school death metal feel, especially on the main riff to penultimate track, Death (Hunt Them Down).

I guess this might turn some purists off the album but to me it just adds another dimension to it. What the production doesn’t do, however is to ever detract from the ferocity of the playing, indeed the chaotic nature of this album is part of its charm. This is unpretentiously a nasty, misanthropic piece of black metal with enough originality and chops to rise above the majority of black metal releases.

Review by Scrios
Track Listing

1.Shot In Mass
2.Fear Upon Them
4.Thrive In Arrogance
5.This World Must Burn (Hammer Of Supremacy)
6.Through Filth And The Remains Of Man
7.Death (Hunt Them Down)
8.Nineteen Corpses Hang In The Mist


Jan Kruitwagen – Guitars/Vocals
Koos Boss – Drums
Ruud Nillesen – Bass

Other reviews

» Godless Arrogance
by UK Team

» Godless Arrogance
by UK Team

Next review: » Scandelion - Nonsense
Previous review: » Ringworm - Hammer of the Witch

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.