Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

March 2013
Released: 2012, Self Released
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Aaron Yurkiewicz

You can’t keep a good band down; such is the case with the UK’s Misconducters. The power trio follows up 2010’s full length delight IT’S ALL YOURS with RESET, a new 3-track EP that carries on the band’s tradition of punk infused metal. It’s a straight to the point, 3 chords to the gut affair that once again proves that you don’t need flash and shtick to write a good tune.

Misconducters have always conveyed a sort of AC/DC/Motorhead/crossover hardcore sort of musical sensibility, and RESET doesn’t stray from that blueprint. What’s immediately discernible though is that the band sounds more mature, with more focus on songwriting over attitude. The songs are more full and fleshed out, giving the riffs and melodies an opportunity to sink in and for the tunes themselves to establish more of their identity. “New Line” and “Wasting Away” are both dark, mid-tempo tunes, wrapped in nasty bellowing riffs, and are arguably the heaviest we’ve yet heard from the band. Sandwiched in the middle is the title track, a comparatively more upbeat and brighter tune that rips some jangly boogie groove into the mix. It creates a nice balance across the EP, and hints at the band’s punk n’ metal influences from the 80s. The production has a very “live in the studio” feel to it, but the mix and presentation are all top notch.

Despite a quality body of work, Misconducters have maintained a pretty low profile over the years – either you know about ‘em or you don’t. But regardless of whatever the current trend or flavor of the week is, Den and company continue to do what they do best – make the kind of heavy music that makes them happy. And it’s that simple pleasure from a working man’s band that makes Misconducters an underdog worth rooting for. RESET is available now, check out the band’s website for more info.
Track Listing

1. New Line
2. Reset
3. Wasting Away


Den – Vocals, Guitars
Sly – Bass
Damian – Drums

Other reviews

» New Blood
by Aaron Yurkiewicz

» It\'s All Yours
by Aaron Yurkiewicz

» Reset
by Aaron Yurkiewicz

» Hypnopaedia
by Aaron Yurkiewicz

» Boundless
by Aaron Yurkiewicz

» Circadian
by Aaron Yurkiewicz

» Pariah
by Aaron Yurkiewicz

Next review: » Nightfall - Cassiopeia
Previous review: » Manilla Road - Mysterium

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.