Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Thunder Rider
March 2013
Released: 2013, Noiseart
Rating: 4.5/5
Reviewer: JP

It's been quite a few years since the last Majesty album, HELLFORCES, seven years in fact. During that time the band went through a label change, a name change (to the short-lived Metalforce) and a label change and yet these Metallions have survived and churned out album number five, THUNDER RIDER!

Tarek basically runs the show now and if Majesty is now essentially his band I wonder what will happen to his solo work, Dawnrider? Bjorn is still with him on guitar and Tarek has brought some of the Metalforces guys with him so hopefully things have stabilized. The style and music has not changed thankfully. THUNDER RIDER is a ten song, 52 minute testament to the power of true Metal right down to the album cover, that features a armoured warrior on horseback virtually identical to the album REIGN OF GLORY!

Oddly enough the album kicks off on a slower note with the anthem. I would have chosen a faster cut personally. The whole pace of the album is a bit slower but there is not a huge difference in speed overall. One of the stand out tracks for me is the song 'Warlords Of The Sea'. I really like the pirate themed lyrics. Rock 'n Rolf would be proud. Essentially the bands simplistic, pounding, Manowar influenced style is fully intact. I also really dig 'Metalliator' a song about a Metal beast. Everything about thunder rider pounds like a hammer, the riffs, the solos, the drums; all fantastic. The album is very diverse as well, anthems, ballads, speedy songs and the whole album is littered with gang vocals and big choruses.

I'm delighted that the band is back. THUNDER RIDER is another fine chapter in the bands history as they continue to help lead the True Metal charge.
Track Listing

1. Thunder Rider
2. Warlords of the Sea
3. Anthem of Glory
4. Make Some Noise
5. Metalliator
6. Raise the Beast
7. New Era
8. Asteria
9. Rebellion of Steel
10. Metal Union


Tarek Maghary Vocals, Keyboards
Tristan Visser Guitar
Bjorn Daigger Guitar
Alex Palma Bass
Jan Raddatz Drums

Next review: » Manilla Road - Mysterium
Previous review: » Majesty - Thunder Rider

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.