Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Heavens Basement
Filthy Empire
March 2013
Released: n/a, Red Bull Records
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: Arto Lehtinen

Wow, I was definitely unaware of energy drink Red Bull’s involvement in the record label business as well besides all other actives. However, The British hard rockers Heavens Basement have inked a deal with Red Bull rec and obviously the backing force in terms of promotion and advertising is going to be ultimately strong for Heavens Basement.

It isn't any wonder that these British rockers have risen up like a rocket up during the past years by touring with several biiiig names. Even though the band has made a name, FILTHY EMPIRE is officially the debut album of this four piece.

The album is kicked off by the raging rocking tune titled “Welcome Home” and is followed by the single cut “Fire, Fire”. Above all, my personal fave ”I am Electric” sounds extremely vital and a bit exceptional and especially fast and furious. Frankly those hard rocking songs are extremely pleasant to bang out of the loudspeakers, whereas the more soft and even ballad ones. The sounds are definitely crystal clear and the band handles the job like the good old idols of their own. What I am longing for is a bit raspy voice here and there. I remember when The Hellacopters unleashed their debut album years and years ago, the album literally blew heads off. As for the singer of Heaven’s Basement, he may sound too clean and polished though some raspy voice would have been suitable in some parts of the album like some straight forward rock bands usually tend to have. Therefore "I am Electric" is the fave song of mine as sounnding such brutal, rapsy and energic.

Heavens Basement draw influences from pop and hard rock tied up with the grip of the modern technology. What I truly hope regarding Heavens Basement, that they band won’t fail to the oblivion after a few years. Instead they just keep pushing forward with the full passion ahead. I also hope Heavens Basement would add some raspy and a bit dirty sound elements to upcoming songs. However these British rocks hard and loud for sure.
Track Listing

1. Welcome Home
2. Fire, Fire
3. Nothing Left To Lose
4. Lights Out In London
5. I am Electric
6. The long Goodbye
7. Heartbreaking Son Of A Bitch
8. Be Somebody
9. Can’t Let Go
10. The Price We Pay
11. Jump Back
12. Executioners Day


Aaron Buchanan - Vocals
Sid Glover - Guitar
Rob Ellershaw - Bass
Chris Rivers - Drums

Other reviews

» Filthy Empire
by Arto Lehtinen

Next review: » Hypocrisy - End of Disclosure
Previous review: » Heavatar - All My Kingdoms

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.