Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Great White
30 Years: Live From The Sunset Strip
March 2013
Released: 2013, Frontiers Records
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Waspman

Aging sucks…on the one hand, it’s cool to have bands you enjoyed in your teens still making quality music many years later (seriously, check out the band’s latest, ELATION, it’s very solid), it also reminds you how old you’re getting yourself…and if I feel old, just imagine how Mark Kendall & co. must feel after thirty years in the music business and more than their fair share of adversity. Indeed, given the trials & tribulations the band has gone through with former singer Jack Russell, and of course The Station fire tragedy, it’s amazing they still have the energy to go on. That said, new vocalist Terry Ilous seems to have revived the band somewhat, as this is as active as they’ve been in at least a decade.

30 YEARS documents the band’s thirtieth anniversary celebration at The Key Club in Los Angeles, and as you’d expect, it covers the all of the band’s greatest hit bases. Still, nothing against Ilous, but it’s too bad that given the magnitude of the anniversary, the band couldn’t bury the hatchet with their former singer. I guess it is what it is. Set list-wise, it’s a bit disappointing that the newest song (“Back to the Rhythm”) is almost a decade old, and the band completely ignores their entire catalogue post-PSYCHO CITY, but I guess that’s forgivable given the nature of the event. Still, a double album with another 10 songs would have been welcome. As for the performances, the band is spot-on, and Mark Kendall’s guitar wizardry is front and centre. Vocally, Terry Ilous holds his own, but can’t hold up to Jack’s stylings of the classic songs – another reason that some new songs, especially from ELATION would have been welcome.

All in all, 30 YEARS is a solid live album that Great White fans will have no trouble enjoying.
Track Listing

1. Desert Moon
2. Lady Red Light
3. Face the Day
4. House of Broken Love
5. Save Your Love
6. Mista Bone
7. The Big Goodbye
8. Back to the Rhythm
9. Rock Me
10. Can’t Shake It
11. Once Bitten Twice Shy


Terry Ilous: Vocals
Mark Kendall: Guitar
Michael Lardie: Guitar, Keyboards
Scott Snyder: Bass
Audie Desbrow: Drums



Next review: » Gutted - Path of a New Era
Previous review: » Graveyard Ghoul - Tomb of the Mouldered Corpses

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.