Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Live By The Code
June 2013
Released: 2013, Victory Records
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: Peter Atkinson

Yes, L.A.'s Terror are a hardcore band. But they shouldn't have much of a problem translating or crossing over to a metal audience - as evidenced by their recent tour with Lamb of God. For all of frontman Scott Vogel's tough guy bravado and protestations, this quintet rock seriously hard.

Indeed, the band's latest full-length is a very metal album, as much as Terror would probably argue otherwise. Live By The Code's gut-punch production puts the guitars solidly out in front of the mix and emphasizes their sheer heaviness, which allows the band to largely steer clear of the rote breakdowns that typically are used for such effect.

The wall of riffage via Jordan Posner and Martin Stewart is immense, and their aggressive licks are punctuated by hulking and abundant hooks throughout – there's even a few solos. Good ones, too! Code opens with the tandem delivering the old one-two on the concussive “The Most High” and they just keep pounding away for the rest of the album's taut, tense 26-some minutes.

To mix things up a wee bit, “I'm Only Stronger” and “Shot Of Reality” ride infectious, swaggering grooves while “Nothing In Your Head” might be the year's heaviest sing-along. “The Good Die Young,” on the other hand, is a full-blown thrash anthem and the slowed down conclusion of “Cold Truth” seems inspired by Slayer's “Altar of Sacrifice/Jesus Saves” transition.

So while Vogel's hollering one thing about “One Blood” and lamenting the “Invasion” of newbies to the scene, his bandmates seem to be saying another as they invite in fresh blood and outsiders by putting a metallic boot up their asses.
Track Listing

1. The Most High
2. Not Impressed
3. Cold Truth
4. I'm Only Stronger
5. Live By The Code
6. The Good Die Young
7. Shot of Reality
8. Hard Lessons
9. Invasion
10. Nothing In Your Head
11. One Blood


Scott Vogel - vocals
Jordan Posner - guitar
Martin Stewart - guitar
David Wood - bass
Nick Jett - drums

Next review: » The Dillinger Escape Plan - One Of Us Is The Killer
Previous review: » Terminal Prospect - Redefine Existence

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.