Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Tomorrow´s Dead Days
June 2010
Released: 2010, Supernova Records
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Luxi Lahtinen

So, I wasn´t hyping this band in vain when I wrote a review for their 3-track demo (SILENCED EARTH) back in 2008. The band is called Enthrope – and they play a combination of atmospheric, keyboard-laden dark and death metal (that´s the closest description I can come up with when trying to categorize their stuff).

Enthrope inked a deal with the Swedish label Supernova Records (a division of Bonnier Amigo Music Group) during spring 2010, and since then everything was basically set for the band for getting their emotional and melody-filled dark/death metal spread to the rest of the world.

TOMORROW´S DEAD DAYS, featuring 9 songs altogether, is a pretty darn amazing wholeness from Enthrope, proving how ambitious, hungry and determined the band has been when putting these 9 songs together for their debut album, and recording them for this release. The album is overall strongly riff-based, accompanied with Miika´s very powerful death grunts (and occasional black metal shrieks) and keyboard parts that merely are involved in the album for broadening the songs´ horizon toward some unexpected and multi-layered spheres – and basically giving them more space to breathe freely with the help of these keyboard sections.

There seems to be a great number of things happening within their songs all the time - the songs changing their deep and strong colors constantly, going from one extreme to another. The songs on T.D.D. actually are all very well crafted and put together; every piece in each individual song seems to have found its justified and right place in a song structure. I am also glad they have got their previous demo´s so-called ´hit song´, titled “Cloud Six”, featured as the opening track for this very pompous and powerful album. Looks like someone has listened to me after all, ha!

Enthrope have achieved some great things on their debut album in terms of catchy and well made dark/death metal for which they can truly be proud of. I was honestly very hooked by this album anyway, and bet so many others of you will be, too. Amazingly good album from this relatively young Finnish metal act.
Track Listing

01. Cloud Six
02. The Last Lunation
03. Moon Chains Descent
04. Illumination Paradox
05. Enemy Within
06. End It All
07. Dead Sun Fragment
08. The Desolate
09. Stars of Nhagrad


Miika Partonen - Vocals
Ville Keinänen - Guitar and clean vocals
Jani Juhola - Guitar and synthesizer
Juha Sorsa - Bass
Mikko Mustonen - Drums
Suvi Grym - Guest vocals

Other reviews

» Silenced Earth
by Luxi Lahtinen

» Tomorrow´s Dead Days
by Luxi Lahtinen

Next review: » Fuck the Facts - Disgorge Mexico:The DVD (DVD)
Previous review: » Enthroned - Pentagrammaton

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.