Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

The 13th Apostle
June 2008
Released: 2008, Music Buy Mail/Artist WorkXX
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Anders Sandvall

S.I.N is a melodic metal band from Germany and Norway. Their debut called SOMEWHERE INTO NOWHERE came out in 2003 and two years later followed EQUILIBRIUM. Both albums went over really well and now it’s time for their critical third album. It’s a themed album about the son of god who chose 12 apostles to fulfill his mission. To pull off this mission they had help from writer Ana Kugli as well as many different singers. To make this album more like a metal opera they use Carsten “Lizard” Schulz (Evidence One, ex-Domain), Renee Walker (Renee Walker Band), Connie Andreszka (Circle of Pain, Crystal Ball) and Boban Milojevic (Wicked Sensation, Snake Eye). All of them sing different parts in the story and to weave it all together there is a narrator in between each song.

THE 13TH APOSTLE has got huge similarities with Avantasia or the Genius trilogy in both how the story is constructed and the music. The music is very technical, complex and epic with progressive parts and it’s neatly delivered by skilled musicians. The band has similarities with Edguy, Avantasia, Queensryche and Dokken. The band also has a new singer: the Norwegian Patrick Simonsen, who also sings in Hush.

After the intro there are 12 songs and 50 minutes of magic. The story revolves around Julian who is the 13th apostle and even though I’m quite fed up with themed albums I find that S.I.N has done something different and exciting. The extraordinary music can almost stand on its own and it’s a pleasure just listening to the music without lyrics. Simonsen has an amazing voice and he fits perfect in the role of the 13th apostle. It’s really hard to pick any favorite songs amongst these equally-strong ones; think about how Avantasia’s albums are built up and you have a pretty good picture of how S.I.N’s genius album sounds.

It’s just to sit back and enjoy the adventures of THE 13TH APOSTLE. I really hope that there will be a follow up because this story is too brilliant to just make one part. This must be S.I.N’s greatest release so far and I think that the album is gonna fortify the band’s position as one of the best European bands in this genre today.
Track Listing

1. Prelude (intro)
2. Signs Of Doubt
3. Awakening
4. Junias Eyes
5. Chosen Are Few
6. In Your Darkest Hour
7. The Faithful Offer
8. Sealed With A Kiss
9. Tears Of Gethsemane
10. Failure
11. For Eternity And Beyond
12. His 13th Apostle
13. Circuit


Deddy Andler – guitar, keyboards
Wolfgang Frank – guitar, bass, keyboards
Alex Hlousek – drums, keyboards
Patrick Simonsen – lead vocals
Jan Ebert – bass

The Voices:
Patrick Simonsen
Carsten Lizard Schulz
Renee Walker
Connie Andreszka

Carsten "Lizard" Schulz

Next review: » Sabaton - The Art Of War
Previous review: » Rock House Method - Metal Guitar Series (DVD)

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.