Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

The Aftermath
July 2014
Released: 2014, AFM Records
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Waspman

Since reforming after a long break back in 1999, French metallions Nightmare have gone on an album releasing tear, with 6 new albums since 2001. THE AFTERMATH is the group’s ninth full-length studio album and, I am a bit ashamed to say, my first exposure to the band.

After the intro, “Bringer of a No Man’s Land” breaks the album wide open with a furious, dark power metal assault. Vocalist (and ex-drummer) Jo Amore is an obvious highlight with gritty, powerful vocals that perfectly compliment the band’s heavy and dark brand of power metal. Indeed, to me the band’s sound has more in common with what used to be called power metal back in the ‘80s rather than the happy sounds of say, Freedom Call. Rest assured though, that Nightmare’s song writing, melodies, and choruses are as catchy as they come, riding waves of memorable riffs in every song.

The band obviously gives much thought to their overall image as well. From their name, to the song titles and lyrics, to the album cover, it’s obvious that Nightmare is striving to be more than your average power metal band, which I find commendable. That said, there are a few less than stellar songs and a few attempts to branch out that don’t quite work (i.e. growled vocals). However, by and large I find THE AFTERMATH a mesmerizing listen and am glad I finally got a chance to check out Nightmare’s music. I’ll definitely be searching out their back catalog but in the meantime, the band’s fans can join me in enjoying the hell out of this opus.
Track Listing

1. The Aftermath (Intro)
2. Bringer’s of a No Man’s Land
3. Forbidden Tribe
4. Necromancer
5. Invoking Demons
6. I am Immortal
7. Digital DNA
8. Ghost in the Mirror
9. The Bridge is Burning
10. Mission for God
11. Alone in the Distance


Jo Amore: Vocals
Franck Milleliri: Guitar
Matt Asselberghs: Guitar, Backing Vocals
Yves Campion: Bass, Backing Vocals
David Amore: Drums



Other reviews

» The Dominion Gate
by Arto Lehtinen

» The Burden Of God
by JP

» The Aftermath
by Erich

» The Aftermath
by Waspman

» Dead Sun
by Erich

» Dead Sun
by John Haseltine

Next review: » Norselaw - Kingslayer
Previous review: » Nightmare - The Aftermath

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.