Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Voodoo Highway
July 2013
Released: 2013, Dust On The Tracks
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Celtic Bob

“The New Deep Purple” line is what caught my eye and got me interested in Voodoo Highway. How could anyone be a “New Deep Purple”? Deep Purple are one of the greatest bands ever. A pretty bold statement that got my curiosity.

First things first and that is the album cover. The artwork is fantastic and how could it be anything but? It was designed by the late Storm Thorgerson. He is know for the glorious album covers by the likes of Led Zeppelin and Pink Floyd. Looking at the cover you cannot help but think to yourself that this needs to be issued on LP to be properly appreciated, as all Storm’s works should be.

This is the second release from the Italian group and though I have never heard their debut I can say that if it is half as good as this one, it is still a fine album. This one is of the highest quality in every aspect possible. Musically the songs are well written and very melodic while remaining heavy but leaving enough space to kick it up a small notch when needed. As for the Deep Purple reference I can only sense it in a song like “Cold White Love” with the Lord-influenced organ sound. Granted there is nobody that can come close, let alone touch the late great Jon Lord. His Hammond sound was massive and he is missed. Duò does do a respectable job on keys and does add a slight Purple influence to the Voodoo sound. Other than that Voodoo Highway are their own band that create some excellent music.

SHOWDOWN is an enjoyable listen from start to finish. There isn’t a skippable track on here which is rare this day in age. I would recommend this release to anyone that likes Hard Rock, Metal and Classic 70’s. With a stroke of luck there will be an LP issued of this in the near future so it can heard the way it should be and Storm’s cover art will be seen properly.
Track Listing

This Is Rock'n'roll, Wankers!
Fly To The Rising Sun
Midnight Hour
Could You Love Me
Wastin' Miles
Church Of Clay
Mountain High
Cold White Love
A Spark From The Sacred Fire
Prince Of Moonlight
Till It Bleeds (Bonus Track)
Broken Uncles Inn (Bonus Track)


Matteo Bizzarri - Guitar
Filippo Cavallini - Bass Guitar
Federico Di Marco - Vocals Alessandro
Duò - Organ and Keys
Vincenzo Zairo – Drums



Other reviews

» Broken Uncle\'s Inn
by UK Team

» Showdown
by Celtic Bob

Next review: » Wall of the Eyeless - Wimfolsfestta
Previous review: » Visions Of Atlantis - Ethera

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.