Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Dawn Of A New Age
January 2013
Released: 2012, Lion Music
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: JP

When people think of Female fronted French Power Metal I’m guessing most people think of Whyzdom, but there is another equally deserving band and that is Venturia. Venturia has in fact been around longer and in September of this year released their third album DAWN OF A NEW AGE. The title is quite appropriate because despite staying with Lion Music since the last album HYBRID in 2008, Venturia have a new bassist and drummer. I have not heard the previous two album so I can’t comment if there was a big shift in musical direction, however I do like this album. I would like to see some more though going into the album cover, it’s a bit dull plain, but eye-catching in it’s simplicity.

DAWN OF A NEW AGE is quite brief, eight cuts running 39 minutes and most of the songs hover in the traditional song range of four minutes. Venturia is decent Melodic Metal quartet. Lead vocalist Lydie has a strong voice, feminine, not too gruff but does not sing in an operatic style, just clean and clear. She reminds me a bit of Sandi Saraya which is a major compliment. She shares vocals with founder and guitarist Charly Sahona for a fairly unique twin male-female vocal attack.

Sahina has quite a natural talent for the guitar (or maybe lots of practice) and his elegant playing, fluid leads and dynamic soloing demonstrate why the band fits so well on the Lion Music label, home to many prestigious guitar heroes and shredders. His pace and tone while some and not too fast, keep this album from being too mellow. The songs have a fair amount of punch despite the smooth, flowing songwriting. The keyboards also bolster the songs.

I don’t have a ton to say about this band, they are good song-writers, great players and DAWN OF A NEW AGE is a great record. I’m not sure it will set the world aflame but for fans of high-quality, well-presented melodic Metal with a few progressive touches you will want to seek this out.
Track Listing

1. Devil in Disguise
2. Secret Dream
3. A New Dawn Rising
4. What We're Here For
5. What If I?
6. Phoenix
7. Spiritual Path
8. A Land of Dreams


Lydie Robin Vocals
Charly Sahona Vocals, Guitars, Keyboards
Franck Hermanny Bass
Frédéric Marchal Drums



Other reviews

» The New Kingdom
by MetalChick

» Dawn Of A New Age
by JP

Next review: » Vicious Rumors - Live You To Death
Previous review: » U.D.O. - Live In Sofia

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.