Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Michael Schenker
Bridge The Gap (LP)
February 2014
Released: 2013, Inakustik
Rating: 4.5/5
Reviewer: Celtic Bob

BRIDGE THE GAP was released in 2013 with the exception of the US who’s release date was January 7th of this year. My LP arrived just in time and with such an impact that it made it onto my Personal Top 20 of 2013. Upon it’s initial spin I thought it was a good, solid album, but upon the second and subsequent spins it really made it’s mark.

For years I have heard the name Michael Schenker and MSG. All I could recall hearing was a song or two from the McAuley Schenker Group in the late 80’s/ early 90’s. It wasn’t until this album that I really heard Michael’s playing. For some strange reason I never realized he was on some of the greatest UFO albums either. For BRIDGE THE GAP he has the classic Scorpions rhythm section of Francis Buchholz on Bass and Herman (Ze German) Rarebell on Drums. Add in Doogie White on vocals and you can’t go wrong.

The album is very guitar oriented as you’d expect but it’s not so over the top to alienate the non-playing music fan such as myself. It is a happy medium of the two so both types of listener will be pleased. The solo’s are crazy especially on “To Live For The King” where Schenker just lets loose. He demonstrates his technical ability for speed while maintaing melody and smoothness.

Being an individual that doesn’t play an instrument most guitar albums are to self indulgent and hold little appeal, this isn’t one of them. BRIDGE THE GAP is an excellent hard rock album with some exceptional guitar playing. Highly recommended LP that sounds perfect.
Track Listing

Side A
Neptune Rising
Where The Wild Winds Blow
Lord Of The Lost And Lonely
Rock n Roll Symphony
To Live For The King

Side B
Land Of Thunder
Temple Of The Holy
Shine On
Bridges We Have Burned
Because You Lied
Black Moon Rising


Doogie White - Vocals
Herman Rarebell - Drums
Francis Buchholz - Bass
Wayne Findlay - Guitar & Keyboards

Next review: » Minotaurus - The Call
Previous review: » Memorain - Seven Sacrifices

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.