Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Made Immortal
February 2014
Released: 2013, Indie
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: JP

‘I scream, you scream we all scream for…HELLSCREAM!’ …and so begins the debut album by California’s newest Power Metal act, Hellscream. Although the band is new a couple of the members are veterans of the Metal wars and they have combined deadly forces to make a force of deadly Metal.

MADE IMMORTAL is the debut album featuring Cage guitarist Dave Garcia and ex-Imagika vocalist Norman Skinner which is you think about it is a match made in heaven (or hell). Both bands are titans of American Metal and these powerhouses have combined to make a great record. Hellscream places itself very comfortably in whole Priest PAINKILLER style mixed with the heaviest of Iced Earth and of course their respective acts. The whole album is fast and heavy as hell. The band keep it very streamlined, nothing in the way of keyboards, acoustic guitars, female vocals, or other distractions, just 100% pure Metal. There are a few brief intro narrations or interludes but those just add a bit of flair before the songs kick in. Skinner is a powerful vocalist as we all know from his days in Imagika. He rages and ranges from screams to roars. We also know that Garcia can play, no question there. The songs are simple but effective grinding bangers that lay waste to legions of posers without batting an eye.

The eleven-track album, runs just under an hour and is so Metal it hurts. There is surprisingly little info available about who else performed on the album and no news that I can easily see if they will be a touring act or of they are seeking to get singed to a label. As it stands their independent debut, MADE IMMORTAL with a simple, understated cover, is letting the music speak for itself. I delighted that there are still bands who are willing to cut through the crap and deliver a solid Metal album start to finish, no compromises. Hellscream can provide your personal soundtrack to metal immortality!
Track Listing

1. Hellscream
2. Mind Reapers
3. Made Immortal
4. Phoenix (We'll Rise)
5. Gorgon Stare
6. The Great Collector
7. Last Charge Of A Bloody Brigade
8. VII (Seven Sins)
9. Act Of God
10. When Forever Ends
11. Worldwide Divide


Dave Skinner - Vocals
Dave Garcia-Guitar

Other reviews

» Made Immortal
by JP

Next review: » Hell's Domain - Hell's Domain
Previous review: » Hellish War - Keep It Hellish

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.