Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

The Inception Of Darkness
February 2014
Released: 2012, Limb Records
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: JP

Eyefear are one of Australia’s elite Metal bands and yet we ( have not given them the support they deserve recently. Since it is their 10th anniversary this year, I thought I’d go back and comment on their most recent album THE INCEPTION OF DARKNESS from late 2012. Better late than never!

In the four years between their fourth album, THE UNSEEN from 2008, the band saw the collapse of their record label Dockyard 1 and they expanded into a quintet adding a keyboardist and a bassist as well. The most recent record was released on a small label in Australia which may have hindered global exposure of this fine act. I’m not exactly sure of the timeline but Limb Records picked up this album and now I have a chance to share my thoughts about it with you.

The press materials from the band said that this is their darkest, most complex album and I have to agree. The band really created one of their finest works with this record. They have added more orchestration, symphonic and progressive elements to the song-writing. The vocalist Danny Cecati (ex-Pegazus) puts in one of the finest performances in his career. His tone and delivery are darker as he almost gets into a bit of phrasing like Jorn Lande or Tony Martin.

The eight track, 43 minute album (the original pressing) is anchored by the two-part title track running about 12 minutes. With the exception of the ‘While The World Sleeps’ quartet/suite of songs from previous albums, ‘The Inception Of Darkness (Parts I & II) is the longest most progressive song they have done. The reissue adds three orchestral re-workings as well as nice bonus tracks. The rest of the album is very well constructed progressive Power Metal. There are a multitude of good sounds, keyboards layers, different bass tones and variety of drum patterns making this a varied and interesting listening experience. The tempo is mostly mid-paced with occasional bursts of speed to keep it lively as well. A number of the songs have a slower double-kick to give the album a good sense of momentum without being too fast for the well-arranged songs that give the riffs space to settle in.

As of January, 2014 the bands News Section on their website has not been updated for over two years. I hope the INCEPTION OF DARKNESS was not the final album, but if it was they went out with a very strong record.
Track Listing

1. Redemption
2. Shadowdance
3. Eyes of Madness
4. The Inception of Darkness Part 1 - Transcending
5. The Inception of Darkness Part 2 - Reborn
6. Immortals
7. Perfect Images
8. Legions

Bonus tracks

09. Eyes of Madness (Orchestral)
10. Reborn (Orchestral)
11. Immortals (Orchestral)


Danny Cecati Vocals
Kosta Papazoglou Guitars
Evan Harris Bass
Seb Schneider Keyboards
Zain Kimmie Drums

Other reviews

Next review: » Fallen Arise - Ethereal
Previous review: » Exit Strategy - The Atrocity Machine

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.