Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Pink Cream 69
February 2013
Released: 2013, Frontiers Records
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Waspman

It has been a quiet 6 (!) years for Pink Cream 69. Since releasing LIVE IN KARLSRUHE in 2009, it’s been virtual silence; and it’s been since 2007 since their last studio release (IN10SITY). Always respected as reliable hard rockers, it’s great to finally hear some new music from these guys.

True to form, CEREMONIAL is packed full of the melodic heavy metal/hard rock songs that the band are known for. Although my personal favorite PC69 album remains ELECTRIFIED, there are a handful of songs offered here that are among the band’s best. On the softer side, “The Tide” is a soul-replenishing ballad that is as enjoyable as it is uplifting. Elsewhere, “Wasted Years” and “Big Machine” are rockers that will sink deep into your memory and have you singing along in no time at all. While the songs towards the end of the album are not as memorable as the first half, there are no complete clunkers on the album.

The addition of guitarist Uwe Reitenauer on IN10SITY toughened up the band’s guitar sound a bit, and that continues here. He and Alfred Koffler make a great guitar tandem over top of original bassist/song writer Dennis Ward and new boot man, Chris Schmidt. David Readman’s performance proves that he continues to be one of the unsung heroes of hard rock as his strong vocals lead the band. It’s still odd to think that he filled Andi Deris’ shoes nearly 20 years ago.

Pink Cream 69 is too good a band to ever disappoint and, although we know what to expect every time they release an album, we’re always assured that it will be high quality and enjoyable. Thankfully, CERMONIAL is no different and is an easy recommendation.
Track Listing

1. Land of Confusion
2. Wasted Years
3. Special
4. Find Your Soul
5. The Tide
6. Big Machine
7. Let the Thunder Roll
8. Right from Wrong
9. Passage of Time
10. I Came to Rock
11. King for One Day
12. Superman


David Readman: Vocals
Alfred Koffler: Guitar
Uwe Reitenauer: Guitar
Dennis Ward: Bass
Chris Schmidt: Drums



Other reviews

» Sonic Dynamite
by Joe

by Anders Sandvall

» Ceremonial
by Waspman

Next review: » Rectified Spirit - Rectified Spirit
Previous review: » Perzonal War - Captive Breeding

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.