Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

The Burden Of God
February 2013
Released: 2012, AFM
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: JP

I'm surprised we have not written more CD reviews of this fantastic French Power Metal band. I mean, basically they are France's #1 Metal band and as if early 2013 we only have one of their eight studio albums reviewed in our database? Quell damage! THE BURDEN OF GOD came out in the spring of 2012 and continues the fine tradition of world-class Power Metal that the band has been writing and performing since their comeback/reunion in 1999.

Not much has changed since the last album INSURRECTION in 2009. The band is still on AFM but they do have a new young axe-slinger in the form of Matt Asselbergher. Lyrically, the band has adapted a bit of a religious theme with cuts like ‘The Preacher’, ‘The Afterlife’ and of course the title cut. The band also revisits the ‘Dominion Gate story with Part III running for almost eight minutes. There is also a good bit of effective, dark narration to add some sonic diversity to the album. The album opens with a longer orchestrated intro piece with some spooky narration that bleeds into the firestorm of ‘Sunrise In Hell’. The band doesn’t really slow down until track seven, ‘Shattered Hearts’ which could not really be classified as a ballad, except for the fact that it is slower than the previous five songs! For the most part Nightmare churn out Power Metal; riff-driven and propelled by the in-the-pocket drumming of Dave. Vocalist, Jo sounds more and more like Jorn Lande every album (or is it the other way around?) as he finds that sweet spot of grit and power. There are some keyboards splashes around the songs but for the most part the crunchy guitars take center stage.

The band have been on a real run since they reformed with no less than six high quality Power Metal albums in a row. THE BURDEN OF GOD is as good as a decade worth of Nightmares.
Track Listing

1. Gateways to the Void
2. Sunrise in Hell
3. The Burden of God
4. Crimson Empire
5. Children of the Nation
6. The Preacher
7. Shattered Hearts
8. The Doomsday Prediction
9. The Dominion Gate (Part III)
10. Final Outcome
11. Afterlife


Jo Amore Vocals
Matt Asselberghs Guitar
Franck Milleliri Guitar
Yves Campion Bass
David Amore Drums

Other reviews

» The Dominion Gate
by Arto Lehtinen

» The Burden Of God
by JP

» The Aftermath
by Erich

» The Aftermath
by Waspman

» Dead Sun
by Erich

» Dead Sun
by John Haseltine

Next review: » Norselaw - Moon Hunters
Previous review: » NIDINGR - Greatest of Deceivers

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.