Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

James Christian
Lay It All On Me
August 2013
Released: 2013, Frontiers Records
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Waspman

House of Lords singer James Christian is one of the most recognizable voices in hard rock. After peaking in popularity in the early ‘90s, House of Lords has continued to build a legacy for themselves as incredible hard rock artists with a knack for incredibly memorable song writing. Much of that writing is due to Christian (the only member of the group left from the ‘80s & ‘90s); who has also made a name for himself with two previous solo albums, with 1995’s RUDE AWAKENING being particularly lauded.

After another solid House of Lords album in 2011 (BIG MONEY), Christian has taken some time away from his main gig to write and record another solo disc. Fans can rest easy as LAY IT ALL ON ME stays well within the expected parameters that Christian’s been working within for 20+ years. If anything, this album is even MORE polished, melodic, and mellow than a House of Lords album. Lead by Christian’s indubitable vocals, the album moves easily between rock and balladry, with just about every song featuring huge gang vocals, and prominent keyboards. While an element of sameness tugs at the album a bit, favorites would include the laid back “Day in the Sun” and the more upbeat “Don’t Come Near Me”.

If you’ve ever heard a House of Lords album, you know exactly what James Christian is going to deliver on this album – indeed, given that most of his HoL band mates play on the album, one wonders why he didn’t just make it the official follow up to BIG MONEY. Nonetheless, I’m always happy to have new music from the HoL camp, and LAY IT ALL ON ME is yet another quality release that fans can grab with confidence.
Track Listing

1. Lay It All On Me
2. Sacred Heart
3. Day in the Sun
4. Believe in Me
5. You’re So Bad
6. Don’t Come Near Me
7. Let It Shine
8. She’s All the Rage
9. Sincerely Yours
10. Shot in the Dark
11. Welcome to Your Future


James Christian: Vocals, Acoustic Guitar, Bass
Jeff Kent: Keyboards
BJ Zampa: Drums
David Sherman: Drums
Jorge Salas: Guitars
Jimi Bell: Guitars
Shelby Stewart: Guitars
Robin Beck: Backing Vocals



Next review: » Judas Priest - Epitath (DVD)
Previous review: » Jac Dalton - Icarus

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.