Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

The Crystal Throne
August 2013
Released: 2013, Inverse Records
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: JP

Even though Epicrenel is a new band, they certainly have an enormous amount of talent and experience among the five members. I won’t list it all here but Epicrenel has past members of Adagio, Amberian Dawn, Olympos Mons, Thaurorod and more. That is a pretty good pedigree! Based in Helsinki, this Finnish Power Metal quintet have just issued their debut album THE CRYSTAL THRONE on Inverse Records.

After a brief intro the band take off for the sky with blazing speed, ripping solos and swirling keyboard solos. The bulk of the album is quite fast, with some excellent guitar vs. keyboard solos as heard on ‘Where Kingdoms Fall’. The voice of Christian Palin has lots of good range but he also has some grit to his delivery. He sings with a good level of intensity and fire while delivering the inspiration lyrics. The production is clean and clear with a good mix and I like the variation in the keyboard tones that help Keyboardist, Chrism act as a co-lead instrumentalist, not just providing backing tones. The hour long, 11-track album is written in a conventional style with most songs running in the 4-5 minute range, but they still manage to inspire a grandiose sound and feel without just having long intro sections. For example the instrumental ‘Skyride’ is just brilliant with the soaring keyboards and solos invoking a feeling that match the title of the song.

Epicrenel remind of some fine (but admittedly less well-known) Italian Speed/Power Metal bands such as Odyssea and Airborn and the more well known fellows Finns, Sonata Arctica. I’m very impressed with this debut album and hope they continue on to have a long career
Track Listing

1. The Calling
2. To Cursed Lands Again
3. Where Kingdoms Fall
4. Walls of the Cave
5. Floating Souls
6. Guarding Fellhound
7. In the Dungeon
8. Skyride
9. Defenders of the Crown
10. Fantom's Grove
11. Conquering the Throne
12. The Coronation


Christian Palin Vocals
Emppu Guitar
Chrism Keyboards
Jukka Hoffrén Bass, Keyboards
Mikko Sepponen Guitars, Drums

Other reviews

Next review: » Exhumed - Necrocracy
Previous review: » Dread, Dennis - Entartete Kunts (Book Review)

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.