Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Cold Colours
Cold Colours
August 2013
Released: 2013, Sleaszy Rider Records
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: UK Team

Cold Colours, the depressive metal entity from mastermind Brian Huebner has returned, this time for their fourth full length. Opener Orifice starts with Spanish style acoustic guitar strumming, with a sinister twist helped by the tribal drumming the backs it up.

Electric guitars wash over the listener as the track really starts, and the melodic layers build up throughout to entrance. The band displays a great variety of influences, from My Dying Bride to Cradle of Filth, the sound is also similar to that of British metal acts such as Aloeswood and the spectacular Old Corpse Road.

The vocals are very modern in their delivery, and are executed in a style reminiscent of COB frontman Alexi Laiho’s strangled screams. All of these elements combined into one release make for a great atmosphere, beautiful and exciting.

If you are using this album as background music, or simply not giving this piece the full attention it deserves, you are absorbing this album in the wrong fashion. The pure haunting qualities are best appreciated as one would appreciate a classic black metal album, by isolating oneself alone with just nature.

This record then takes one a whole new meaning, feeling both majestic and tranquil at the same time. Those familiar with bands such as Striborg will understand how much the way an album is listened to can affect the listening pleasure, and this album certainly follows the “no distractions” rule.

Unlike many metal records where keyboards are used, the guitars are still the main driving force behind the music, which adds great power and more memorability into each song.

The Process Of Dying represents the more death and doom influences in an impressive and mature four minute tune, but lovers of the 90s black metal sound need not despair, for the closing Rotting Christ cover track provides all the grimness one could desire.

Review by Jarod Lawley
Track Listing

1. Orifice
2. Disgust
3. The Process of Dying
4. This Devotion
5. Suffering God
6. A Loss of Faith
7. Of Sand and Tears
8. Silent Speech
9. Cold Colours


Brian James Huebner - Vocals, guitar, bass and keyboards,
Aaron Lott-guitar,
David Richardson-drums and vocals

Other reviews

» The Great Depression
by Waspman

» Cold Colours
by UK Team

Next review: » Cosmic Infusion - Cosmic Infusion [EP]
Previous review: » Church of Void - Dead Rising

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.