Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Back From Beyond
April 2014
Released: 2014, Century Media
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: Helias Papadopoulos

Massacre is ‘back from beyond’. At last! The legendary death metal act releases a new full-length album after many many years. BACK FROM BEYOND seems to be a sequel to FROM BEYOND (1991). Massacre affected the entire death metal scene even it was laid in underground.

The revitalized death metal scene has been something to talk about in the last couple of years, considering that many new bands are dropping the math and the glossiness instead of a direct death metal approach like the early days. Massacre continues their musicianship from FROM BEYOND album.

23 years and thousands of death metal albums later, Massacre continues stand alone and cut a violent swath through the underground with their BACK FROM BEYOND. The line-up has been put through a half-change process with Ed Webb on vocal spot and Mikey Mazzonetto on drums while Rick Rozz and Terry Butler standing steadily on their own spots.

Just about every track is a high-powered voracious grabber, though the anxious tension of "Ascension Of The Deceased" and relentless double-bass on "The Evil Within" are noteworthy standouts. Each song is designed for efficiency and efficacy, with plenty of punchy hooks and no filler or frills to break the momentum.

In all, this album is another good effort from one of the most durable, killing names in the pages of extreme/death metal lore. If you like it fast, tough, angry and scrappy then Massacre has exactly what you need. BACK FROM BEYOND remains steadfast in his message an execution, which means lots of tooth social commentary and rapid-fire and solid riffing.

Massacre put themselves on your radar once again because they are one of the bands leading the death metal pack.
Track Listing

1. The Ancient Ones
2. As We Wait To Die
3. Ascension Of The Deceased
4. Hunter's Blood
5. Darkness Fell
6. False Revelation
7. Succumb To Rapture
8. Remnants Of Hatred
9. Shield Of The Son
10. The Evil Within
11. Sands Of Time
12. Beast With Vengeance
13. Back From Beyond
14. Honor The Fallen


Ed Webb – Vocals
Rick Rozz - Guitars
Terry Butler - Bass
Mikey Mazzonetto - Drums



Next review: » Mindfeeder - Endless Storm
Previous review: » Manowar - Kings Of Metal MMXIV

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.