Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Vision Divine
Destination Set To Nowhere
November 2012
Released: 2012, EARMusic
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Waspman

Seventh album out now for long-running Italian power metallers Vision Divine – it’s hard to believe that the band began life as a solo project for once & future Labyrinth guitarist Olaf Thorsen (that name still makes me snicker). In fact, you could argue that Vision Divine is a more “known” name in metal circles these days than Labyrinth. Of course, having Rhapsody of Fire signer Fabio Leone in the band doesn’t hurt, but even then, the band’s albums with Michele Luppi singing are equally lauded (check out my review of Luppi’s new album with Secret Sphere this month as well!). It just goes to show you that Thorsen knows power metal and can write high-quality songs.

It’s no surprise then that DESTINATION SET TO NOWHERE is yet another feather in Vision Divine’s collective cap; the band’s progressive power metal sound is completely intact, Leone’s vocals are as strong as ever, and the riffs offered up are some of their best. True to form, this is a concept album, which, to be honest I didn’t really care too much about. To their credit, it’s at least not the typical high fantasy, but rather a science fiction-based story. As usual with Vision Divine though, it really doesn’t matter what Leone’s singing about because the music is so good.

Energetic, memorable riffs are everywhere on the album, from “The Dream Maker” straight through to later songs like “The House of the Angels”. Hell, even the ballad “Message to Home” is catchy as hell, and just the right kind of cheesy. There are a few less than outstanding songs offered up, but by and large, this a great album and a solid addition to Vision Divine’s impressive catalogue.
Track Listing

1. Si Fosse Foco
2. The Dream Maker
3. Beyond the Sun and Far Away
4. The Ark
5. Mermaids from Their Moons
6. The Lighthouse
7. Message to Home
8. The House of the Angels
9. The Sin Is You
10. Here We Die
11. Destination Set to Nowhere


Fabio Leone: Vocals
Olaf Thorsen: Guitar
Federico Puleri: Guitar
Andrea Torricini: Bass
Alessandro Bissa: Drums

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.