Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Art of Aggression
May 2006
Released: 2004, New Aeon Media
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Asassinkiller

If years ago metal was all about experimenting and adding new sounds to the music, today things are just starting to go the other way around; it is all about going back to the roots, back to the beginning of extreme metal. And that is why no one will be able to stop the mighty re-raise of Thrash, which will soon gain its spiked and beer spilled throne once again.

Scenteria is a newcomer in the scene, and as you have guessed by now, they play thrash; thrash with melodeath influences, were the goal of the music just follows one simple path:aggression. And for sure that is why the band decided to name their debut album ART OF AGGRESSION. ART OF AGGRESSION is full of traditional hyper fast thrash metal riffs mixed with some modern ones ala The Haunted, Impious and Hatesphere. The melodic death metal influence comes mainly, and as with many bands, from the mighty At The Gates.

One thing that really got my attention is the drumming of Daniel, it is extremely tight and heavy, especially in the drumkick department: flawless. The production is an aggressive one that gives you the opportunity to hear what every player is doing. It is also a bit muddy and raw and I think that gives a little extra to the overall sound.

ART OF AGGRESSION is a very decent thrash metal record that will keep you banging your head for hours. If these guys were able to release such a strong debut, I can’t wait to see what they have in store for their sophomore release. I think that New Aeon Media had this in mind when signing Scenteria. They knew their debut album would be a very good one, but what they spent their money in, is in what these guys will unleash in the hopefully near future. And if you don’t believe me, just give "Forever Lost", "Addicted" and "Acts of Lunacy" a try. Blood will come out of the walls!!!
Track Listing

01 Acts of Lunacy
02 Circle of Fear
03 Forever Lost
04 Infected War
05 Addicted
06 Dead Point of View
07 Blackend
08 Reign of Hate
09 The Abyss


Stefan Persson – vocals/guitars
Niklas Pettersson – guitars
Johan Andreasson – bass
Daniel Landin – drums

Other reviews

» Art of Aggression
by Asassinkiller

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.