Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

The Wörld Is Ours – Vol 2 – Anyplace Crazy As Anywhere Else
October 2012
Released: 2012, Motorhead Music/EMI
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: UK Team

There’s no more fitting genre for a live album than rock n roll. Unlike a lot of pop acts that mime their way through live tours, rock bands rise to the challenge of living up to their studio output with ease. Whilst playing instruments, inciting the crowd, and generally tearing up the stage.

That’s why a good live album can become a favourite album, that translation and expansion upon what you hear through your speakers can create a combination that just touches you the right way. And no-one can be in trouble for it.

As the title suggests, the tracks on The Wörld Is Ours – Vol 2 – Anyplace Crazy As Anywhere Else come from Motörhead’s world tour to support 2010’s The Wörld Is Yours release. It also follows in the footsteps of its live sibling The Wörld Is Ours – Vol 1 - Everywhere Further Than Everyplace Else.

As volume two the album takes in the band’s triumphant headline appearance at Wacken 2011, as well as highlights from Sonisphere and the Rock In Rio shows of the same year over the course of two discs. If you really want to feel like you were there, or play Where’s Wally for yourself in the crowd, there’s also a DVD/Blu-ray release.

Musically, The Wörld Is Ours – Vol 2 – Anyplace Crazy As Anywhere Else is what you would expect from such a tour – all the fan favourites/hits and some newer stuff as well. Some songs such as ‘Ace Of Spades’ by nature appear more than once, and in the case of ‘Killed By Death’ three times, which can feel a little repetitive (although every one of those crowd’s wanted to hear those tracks) but also leads to the inevitable comparison game. Whilst Lemmy’s voice seems to be a little at Rio, stepping outside the same gig goers could probably still feel the vibrations from the band’s performance of the same song in Wacken.

There’s nothing polished about any part of Motörhead, except perhaps their guitar strings, so as with their studio music this is unadulterated as possible, but production wise still comes through in surprising clarity. The Wacken set in particular is out front on this, and also retains all that lovely crowd banter that helps makes a live album feel special.

Essentially, The Wörld Is Ours – Vol 2 – Anyplace Crazy As Anywhere Else is probably aimed at the avid collector, or maybe those who want to marvel at how three men that have been in the business this long can still make such a ruckus, but damn if you like never-get-clean- dirty rock n roll, Motörhead have always been the band for you and this album won’t make you doubt that for a second.

Review by Kirsty Birkett-Stubbs
Track Listing

Wacken Open Air, Germany, August 6th 2011

1. Iron Fist
2. Stay Clean
3. Get Back In Lines
4. Metropolis
5. Over The Top
6. One Night Stand
7. Rock Out
8. The Thousand Names Of God
9. I Know How To Die
10. The Chase Is Better Than The Catch
11. In The Name Of Tragedy
12. Just ‘Cos You Got The Power
13. Going To Brazil
14. Killed By Death
15. Bomber
16. Ace Of Spades
17. Overkill

Sonisphere Festival UK, July 10th 2011

1. Iron Fist
2. I Know How To Die
3. In The Name Of Tragedy
4. Killed By Death
5. Ace Of Spades
6. Overkill

Rock In Rio Brazil, September 25th 2011

1. Stay Clean
2. Over The Top
3. The Chase Is Better Than The Catch
4. Going To Brazil
5. Killed By Death


Lemmy Kilmister – Vocals/Bass
Philip Campbell – Guitars
Mikkey Dee - Drums



Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.