Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

March 2016
Released: 2016, Universal Music
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Helias Papadopoulos

After 3 years Megadeth are back with a new stuff and staff! Kiko Loureiro (Angra) and Chris Adler (Lamb of God) are onboard. DYSTOPIA is the name of the last new effort and before I start to say anything about it, I claim that is a completely successful move anyway.

From the first listening session you can easily say that a massive and great work on the guitars. The album contains clearly some highlights. The title track is one of them, mainly because of the beautiful melodies and the more relaxing and not so heavy mood. The mid-tempo "Poisoning Shadows" is quite interesting with the acoustic intro and outro with piano played by Loureiro, together with the late '90s aesthetic sense. The instrumental "Conquer...Or Die!" It is another very good time with Kiko again shining by his playing, while the cover of "Foreign Policy" by FEAR comes to remind us of the older and angrier Mega-seasons. In addition, “Death From Within” is another one highlight here musically and lyrically telling the story of the Greeks invading Troy. Also, I personally find "The Emperor" chilly and tasty enough due to the fact that reminds me of the CRYPTIC WRITINGS – era songs.

Technical, fierce, unrelenting and with the sterling production you could only expect to come out of Mustaine and Chris Rakestraw (BLACK LABEL SOCIETY, CHILDREN OF BODOM, DANZIG, DORO, HUNTRESS, FREIDMAN, MOTORHEAD).

DYSTOPIA is an extremely good Mega-album to listen to. I Don’t know if it’s inspiring or a classic one, but you gonna like it for sure.
Track Listing

1. The Threat Is Real
2. Dystopia
3. Fatal Illusion
4. Death from Within
5. Bullet to the Brain
6. Post American World
7. Poisonous Shadows
8. Conquer or Die
9. Lying in State
10. The Emperor
11. Foreign Policy


Dave Mustaine Guitar, Vocals
Kiko Loureiro Guitar
David Ellefson Bass
Chris Adler Drums



Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.