Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Serpent Sermon
July 2012
Released: 2012, Century Media
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: UK Team

With the eerie slow drum beat introduction in comes the thundering power surge of Lars Broddesson’s drumming skill, delivering a crunchy self titled “Serpent Sermon” introduction. The catchy chorus and easily to access album opener sets pace for the crunchy “Messianic Pestilence” which brings long time fans back to comfort as Mortuus’s vocal talents glimmer through the barren fog produced by the atmospherically drenched backdrop .

“Souls for Belial” and “into second decay death” work well as continuation play through delivering hurricane speeds over layers of ear splintering drumming. With the return of tribal-esque drumming and a feedback drenched layering for “Temple of Decay” with murmurs from afar sets the pace of one of the slower numbers of the album, with hypnotic with raspy and melancholic collaborating vocal work, working with the visual illusion of the snake’s movements.

The spell is broken as “Damnation's Gold” sets back a momentum treat for head banging. “Hail Mary (Piss-soaked Genuflexion)” brings back the old school Marduk writing skills, with the modern kick. Joining this aesthetic is “M.A.M.M.O.N.” which quickly cuts through the sound waves slickly fading into the shortest song on the album. “Gospel of the Worm” which is an adrenaline thump builds up to introduce the real hard puncher of “World of blades.

Keeping with the tradition that last song on most black metal albums is the best, this is no exception, most memorable as it’s a cacophony of layering, title-tying in and appetizing to the ear. The album is found among decay and desolation drenched atmospheres found with beautifully produced beacons with sublime musicianship with flourishes of grim lyrical organics to match.

Review by Ashlinn Nash
Track Listing

1. Serpent Sermon
2. Messianic Pestilence
3. Souls for Belial
4. Into Second Death
5. Temple of Decay
6. Damnation's Gold
7. Hail Mary (Piss-soaked Genuflexion)
8. M.A.M.M.O.N.
9. Gospel of the Worm
10. World of Blades


Daniel "Mortuus" Rosten – vocals
Morgan "Evil" Steinmeyer Håkansson – guitar
Magnus "Devo" Andersson – bass
Lars Broddesson – drums

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.