Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Broken Bones
October 2012
Released: 2012, Frontiers Records
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Waspman

Dokken’s a band that needs no introduction. The name conjures up thoughts of ‘80s-heyday guitar fireworks, catchy riffs, huge hair, and embarrassing outfits. The thing is, despite a few missteps, the band has always had the musical goods to outweigh the image. Personally, I’ve never been more than a casual fan of the band, and the only album I still own is TOOTH & NAIL. I’ve heard all of their albums though, and didn’t particularly enjoy their last effort, LIGHTNING STRIKES AGAIN.

However, BROKEN BONES grabbed me immediately with the fiery opener, “Empire” which is a fast rocker miles better than anything the band has done since the song “Erase the Slate”. From there the great riffs keep on coming with the title track and the catchy “Best of Me”. After three songs I was about ready to give the album the coveted 5/5 rating, but unfortunately the quality doesn’t stay quite so high throughout the entire album. That said, there’s not a single actively bad song to be heard, but songs like “Victim of the Crime” or the dull “Today” are certainly skippable.

As for the band, they are on fire throughout the album, Jon Levin in particular impressed me with is scorching riffs and solos. Sadly, Don Dokken’s vocals continue to fade into the background – the man just cannot sing as he used to. His vocals are still good though, and he projects enough charisma to lead the band effectively.

All in all, I was quite impressed with BROKEN BONES. It’s an all around solid hard rock album that I have no doubt will please the band’s fans, and, if there is any justice, win them a few new ones as well.
Track Listing

1. Empire
2. Broken Bones
3. Best of Me
4. Blind
5. Waterfall
6. Victim of the Crime
7. Burning Tears
8. Today
9. For the Last Time
10. Fade Away
11. Tonight


Don Dokken: Vocals
Jon Levin: Guitar
Sean McNabb: Bass
Mick Brown: Drums

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.