Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

February 2008
Released: 2008, Metal Blade/Border Music
Rating: 5.0/5
Reviewer: Anders Sandvall

Many fans have been eagerly awaiting the release of the sixth album from Brainstorm. DOWNBURST is filled with excellent heavy power metal/melodic metal with an enormous amount of energy and sheer fun. Before the release of this album a sneak preview in the shape of a CDS was released at the end of last year called “Fire Walk with Me”. Now the wait is over for the fans and that includes me as well.

The album is signified by fast guitar riffs thrown out by Ihlenfeld and Loncaric, pounding drum fills by Bernert and amazing vocal efforts by Frank. Keyboards appears but have no major part in the production which feels good but unfortunately the band has added several orchestral arrangements which don’t feel so heavy but pass because of the otherwise ass kicking material. “Fire Walk with Me” represents the album pretty good and was a brilliant sneak preview. The rest of the album is as solid as that song and Brainstorm has managed to create the perfect album with not many errors at all. The songs balance each other perfectly and both ballads and faster songs work in perfect harmony.

“Falling Spiral Down”, “Redemption in your Eyes”, “Protect Me from Myself” and “Frozen” are melodic power metal songs with that extra twist. The songs include many complex turns and edgy guitar riffs that take your breath away. “Fire Walk with Me”, “Stained with Sin”, “How Do You Feel” and “All Alone” are of a more melodic kind with a slower tempo and keyboards. There are many potential hits amongst these songs and Frank shows a very varied side to his voice.

Sascha Paeth and Miro have produced this opus and just like everything else the production flawless. The musical landscape is sometimes hard as steel and sharp as a diamond and sometimes more softer and well balanced. DOWNBURST is an excellent album with nothing to complain about, Brainstorm has managed to deliver a jackpot and no other rating will do than the highest and the best.
Track Listing

Falling Spiral Down
Fire Walk with Me
Stained with Sin
Redemption in your Eyes
End in Sorrow
How do you Feel
Protect me from myself
Surrounding Walls
All Alone


Andy B Frank – lead vocals
Torsten Ihlenfeld – guitar
Milan Loncaric – guitar
Dieter Bernert – drums

Next review: » Brainstorm - Firesoul
Previous review: » Brainstorm - Ambiguity

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.