Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

The Deception Of Dreams
August 2015
Released: 2015, Sky-Rocket Records
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Erich

Gloustershire, England’s Reason is back with its second full-length in THE DECEPTION OF DREAMS. Formed in 2009, I first heard the band on their 2014 EP BEYOND THE DARK HORIZON and I was immediately impressed. The new album continues where that EP left off, Reason possessing the ability to create melodic metal that is catchy with just a hint of progressive elements. The band has the rare quality of being able to create music that has the feel of gray skies, not mournful or deeply depressing, but instead reflective and wistful.

Paul Mace continues to be a weapon, his vocal style confident and soothing. He reminds me of Fish in many ways, the first singer for Marillion. The album opens with “Synchronized” and features a riff reminiscent of Rush’s “Dreamline” before transitioning into a melodic rocker. “Sacrifice” is a nice change of pace for the band, as they offer a more direct song with an ascending riff and a memorable chorus that courts AOR. “Fire Eternal” is one of the signature tracks from the album, with a Journey inspired intro and another strong chorus. “September Child” is a worthy semi-ballad that also briefly winks at Type O Negative with a few notes from the main melody of “September Sun”. It’s a nice touch.

Basically, THE DECEPTION OF DREAMS is an album with character and class from a band that plays some long songs that do not feel long, while simultaneously avoiding technical wankery. There are bits of everything, including gallops, keyboards, and fiery riffs all served up within the context of strong songs. Minor complaint would be thinness of the drums in the mix, but overall the production is decent. There is not much more to say. THE DECEPTION OF DREAMS is simply a damn fine album that should appeal to people that enjoy Marillion as well as melodic metal with progressive nuances
Track Listing

1. Synchronised
2. Sacrifice
3. Fire Eternal
4. Heartless
5. September Child
6. Nothing
7. Revelation
8. Star Crossed
9. Souldrift


Paul Mace (Vocals)
Chris Gyngell (Guitars)
Graham Corbett (Bass)
John Townsend (Drums)
Gil Hird (Keyboards)

Next review: » Sinister - Dark Memorials
Previous review: » Prato, Greg - Survival Of The Fittest: Heavy Metal in the 1990`s (Book Review)

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.