Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Remain Dystopian
July 2015
Released: 2015, Relapse Records
Rating: 2.0/5
Reviewer: Aaron Yurkiewicz

I feel like I’m supposed to like this album a lot more than I do. There’s been a TON of promotion and build up around REMAIN DYSTOPIAN, and given my inclination towards even mediocre grindcore, you’d think this’d be a no brainer, right? But man, I’ve listened to this album numerous times (it’s only 27 minutes), and I still can’t tell you anything that sticks out about any single particular tune. That’s a problem.

I mean, it’s got its charm. The riffs opt for more hi-speed jangly, discordant Voivod-ism’s over more traditional heavier guitar tones, and it’s a unique dynamic across the first couple of songs. That is until it becomes clear that the songs are less “songs” than they are a random collection of jangly, discordant Voivod-ism’s with screaming on top of it. It’s like 17 hyper speed supercuts of traffic collisions and industrial accidents pressed onto a CD. Which is all well and good, I suppose, but it’s tough to connect with an album when there’s not much to connect with other than a random collection of jangly, discordant Voivod-ism’s with screaming on top of it. J.R. Hayes (Pig Destroyer) and Tomas Lindberg (At the Gates) both make guest appearances on the album, but if I hadn’t read that in the press sheet, I never would’ve known. Not one, but two wasted opportunities.

Maruta even hails from my home state of Florida, but we’re also home to Limp Bizkit, so I guess that’s not a compelling argument either. If all you’re after is a temporary distraction in between episodes of Family Guy, REMAIN DYSTOPIAN might fit the bill. But there are better ways to spend that time, and your money.
Track Listing

1. Genocide Interval
2. Hope Smasher
3. The Void Within
4. Minimal Progress
5. Protocol for Self Immolation
6. Absolutist
7. Stride Endlessly Through Scorched Earth
8. Submergence aka Barren Oceans of Infinity
9. Erode
10. Stand in Defeat
11. Remnants of Failed Utopia
12. I, Usurper
13. Durandal
14. Psalm for the Withered
15. Return to Zero
16. Slaying Jehova
17. Immune


Mitchell Luna – Vocals
Eduardo Borja – Guitars
Mauro Cordoba – Bass
Danny Morris - Drums

Other reviews

» In Narcosis
by Hanntu

» Remain Dystopian
by Aaron Yurkiewicz

Next review: » Marvel Premire (Issue 50) - Alice Cooper (Book review)
Previous review: » Maruta - In Narcosis

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.