Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Living Corpse
Metaphysical Collapse
September 2010
Released: 2010, Coroner Records
Rating: 2.5/5
Reviewer: Waspman

Italy’s Living Corpse has been around for ten years now, but for whatever reason has been unable to release any music for most of that time. They managed a single in 2007, and independently released this album in 2009. I guess Coroner Records liked these guys, as they’ve re-released this album in 2010, but there are no added bonus tracks or anything, so I’m not sure what the point is.

METAPHYSICAL COLLAPSE has been described as a metalcore album, but I am more inclined to call it melodeath. I realize the two genres are very closely linked together, but there’s something about Living Corpse’s music that strikes me as more Gothenburg than the more typical North American style associated with metalcore. Either way, there isn’t a whole hell of a lot on the album that you haven’t heard approx. 2,184 times before in the past ten years, but given that the band has existed for all of that time; I guess they can be forgiven for their sound. Furthermore, the band is good at what they do and have crafted a set of songs that, while derivative, are at least enjoyable in a good-background-music kind of way – there’s nothing on here that will grab your attention, but nothing that will annoy you either.

It’s too bad that Living Corpse couldn’t get their act together to strike while the iron was hot for metalcore eight years ago; they probably would have made more of an impact. As it stands, there’s just not enough on METAPHYSICAL COLLAPSE to recommend it as more than a solid example of a dying genre.
Track Listing

1) Ars Regia
2) Metaphysical Collapse
3) Twin Divine
4) Zero Is the Zenith of the Sun
5) The Great Silver Bullet
6) Mindflow
7) Conspiracy
8) 6th Race of Aquarius Age
9) Supplying My Lust
10) Daybreak


Emanuele Ciancio: Guitar
Rafael Falleti: Vocals
Mauro Lacertosa: Bass
Daniele Di Giorgio: Drums

Other reviews

» Metaphysical Collapse
by Waspman

Next review: » Living Sacrifice - The Hammering Process
Previous review: » Liveevil - 3 Altering

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.