Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

We Rise
December 2015
Released: 2015, Independent
Rating: 2.5/5
Reviewer: UK Team

New Zealand based metal heads Devilskin is quickly becoming an all defining force within the metal scene, with a number one debut album in 2010 and with an unwavering commitment to their musical values, they have most notably shared stages with the likes of Slash and Alice Cooper. Recorded at both York St Studios in Auckland and Rockfield Studios in Monmouth UK, the band delve further into their emotional turbulent sound.

The album starts out relatively strong with ‘The Elvis Presley Circle Pit’. Full of metallic riffs and soaring clean vocals. Halfway through the vocals turn into a screaming passage with some pretty standard lead guitar thrown out.

Unfortunately, much of the album unfolds in a similar way making the listening experience somewhat stagnant at times. However, a brief dabbling with electronic samples leaks into the rebellious vibes of ‘Start a Revolution’, a track that will no doubt get fans singing along at concerts.

‘Never See the Light’ remains a strong offering with impressive lead guitars and sincere lyrics. It is here that the band not only reach their peak, but they also make you realise there is some serious potential underneath their song writing.

Meanwhile, ‘Surrender’ oscillates between a consistent use of melody and tight sounding drum work, giving the vocals a greater spotlight in the production. This track feels like a purging out of inner demons and as impressive guitar solo conjures up plenty of angst while building a heightened sense of drama.

The album does fall short from this point. It’s almost like the band ran out of ideas but decided to carry on regardless. What’s more, things get worse when the jarring noise of ‘Violation’ kicks in with screaming vocals that fall face flat on the ground. If you can't scream properly; don’t bother. Your music sounds better without it!

Closing off with ‘Dirt’ the band regain the credibility of their early tracks. The grunge crafted riffs and violin section catapult Deilskin into new heights and giving them with a greater sense of purpose in this final offering.

While this album falls short in diversity and lyrical sloppiness, there is room for something far greater to emerge. Let’s hope these guys come back with something far more solid next time round. Until then, enjoy some hard hitting anthems!

Review by Ben Spencer
Track Listing

1. Elvis Presley Circle pit
2. Little Pills
3. Vessel
4. Start a Revolution
5. Never See the Light
6. Until You Bleed
7. Fade
8. Surrender
9. Burning Tree
10. The Horror
11. Violation
12. Covert
13. Cherophobia
14. Dirt


Jennie Skulander: Vocals
Nail: Guitar
Paul Martin: Bass
Nic Martin: Drums

Other reviews

» We Rise
by UK Team

Next review: » Devil's Heaven - Heaven On Earth
Previous review: » Devils Whorehouse - Revelation Unorthodox

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.