Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Yngwie Malmsteen
July 2004
Released: 2002, Sony
Rating: 5.0/5
Reviewer: JP

My favorite guitarist of all time is experiencing a resurgence of sorts. The enormous popularity of the G-3 Tour of North America (of which YJM was a huge part) helped secure him a proper major label North American release for this album, now almost two-years old. His label mates Vai and Satriani, impressed by his prowess, went to bat for him, and lo and behold this CD gets the re-issue treatment in North America with two bonus tracks. You know you are in good company when Vai and Satriani sing your praises in public!

ATTACK!! is classic Malmsteen. From the poor album cover to the substandard packaging all the familiar elements are here. I mean…The SEVENTH SIGN had a close-up of his nose…now this one had a close up of his eye?! Gimme a break! In 20 years he has had only one or two cool album covers, specifically WAR TO END ALL WARS. No lyrics, no photos of the band are par for the course these days. I’m guessing the other pressings have all the extra goodies, as this version seems kinda low budget.

This CD has tons of great songs, (including the almost obligatory Egyptian themed ‘Valley of The Kings’), great vocals courtesy of Dougie and of course that magical, wonderful guitar. It truly impressive how Yngwie finds and attracts singers of the highest caliber across the globe who make their name with him and go on to careers with other things. Dougie is YJM singer #8 (including Jorn Lande who never recorded with the band) and he fits the mold perfectly. Range, power, passion he has it all and I’m sure he could this stuff in his sleep.

Yngwie did it first and best and continues to do so. Attack has a slightly more neo-classical feel in my mind than the last few, very slightly less ‘metal’ than ALCHEMY, better production and songs than WAR, and less commercial than FACING THE ANIMAL. A perfect blend of the three previous studio releases and another triumph.
Track Listing

1. Razor Eater
2. Rise Up
3. Valley Of The Kings
4. Ship Of Fools
5. Attack
6. Baroque & Roll
7. Stronghold
8. Mad Dog
9. In The Name Of God
10. Freedom Isn’t Free
11. Majestic Blue
12. Valhalla
13. Iron Clad
14. Air
15. Battlefield


Yngwie J. Malmsteen-Guitar, Bass
Dougie White-Vocals
Derek Sherinian-Keyboards
Patrick Johansson

Next review: » Yngwie Malmsteen - Concerto Suite For Guitar And Orchestra In E Flat Minor With The New Japan Philharmonic-Live (DVD)
Previous review: » Yngwie Malmsteen - Attack!!

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.