Free Metal E-Mail

New Users Sign Up

Connect. Befriend. Follow.

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

XVI Eyes
Last Migration of the Hammerheads
September 2010
Released: 2010, Self Released
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Aaron Yurkiewicz

As a self professed doom-phile, it’s refreshing to hear bands take a familiar formula and make it original with their own unique spin. Such is the case with Winnipeg’s XVI Eyes (that’s sixteen eyes for the numerically challenged) and their self released debut LAST MIGRATION OF THE HAMMERHEADS. Merging elements of melodic doom, Crowbar sludge and even a smidgen of death metal, the band uses its influences to create a formidable opening statement.

At first glance, LMOTH is deceptively simple with a relatively bare bones musical approach, but there’s plenty of wallop in each tune. The album is full of dark riffs from the murky depths, but LMOTH is equal parts heavy and melody. Songs like “Elizabeth” and “Blackened Sun” have an Alice in Chains vibe, while “Diaspora”, “Long Knives” and the title track benefit from some Opeth inspired prog infusion. And then there’s the straight up, punch you in the face tracks like “Sea Demons” and “Touching Hate”. There’s a lot of variety throughout the album’s 50 minute run time, but each song bears a common thread with its brethren which creates a sense of continuity from beginning to end. The production leaves a little to be desired, but the dense presentation adds to the overall heavy factor.

LAST MIGRATION OF THE HAMMERHEADS is a strong debut and a great heavy album in general. According to the band’s website, XVI Eyes is already in the studio prepping for album #2. Here’s hoping that the band’s got more of this up their collective sleeve. You can pick up a copy of the album through CD Baby and iTunes.
Track Listing

3.Sea Demons
6.The Last Migration of the Hammerheads
8.The Echo
9.Touching Hate
10.Night of the Long Knives
11.Blackened Sun
13.Shades of Cernunnos


Shane Fletcher - Vocals, Guitars
Dale Janz - Guitar
Mike Dearman - Bass, Backing Vocals
Chris Suave – Drums

Other reviews

Next review: » XXX Maniak - Harvesting The Cunt Nectar
Previous review: » XVI Eyes - Building Eden From Embers

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.