Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

June 2011
Released: 2011, Frontiers
Rating: 5.0/5
Reviewer: Celtic Bob

Warrant are back with a new singer and a CD of new original material. This time around they have ex-Lynch Mob vocalist Robert Mason handling the vocals. Robert replaces Jani Lane who was back in the band briefly after their last studio effort BORN AGAIN which had Jaime St.James on lead. ROCKAHOLIC is musically similar to BORN AGAIN and as with BORN AGAIN the line-up is four fifths the original band.

Upon hearing that Warrant had a new album coming I was stoked. I loved the first few discs, especially DOG EAT DOG and their last one BORN AGAIN. After a quick scan through it I liked the music but vocally it didn’t do it for me. Mason’s vocal’s were great but didn’t seem to fit in with the Warrant style. After a few spins it grew on me and now I love the album. It’s a solid, Hard Rock album that could be considered Metal in places. It ranks up there with a few of their past albums and surpasses others by a mile. From the opening guitar riffs of the first track, “Sex Ain’t Love” to the closing note of “The Last Straw” you get a full on Rock n’ Roll record. Yes there are ballads but it’s the heavy tracks that really nail you. It’s everything you’d expect and more as cliche as that sounds. This album is guitar heavy with an equally heavy rhythm section. The classic line-up works so well together and it shows on here. The musicianship is first rate and they’ve never sounded this solid since DOG EAT DOG.

I’d put ROCKAHOLIC up there with BORN AGAIN and DOG EAT DOG in terms of quality and heaviness. Definitely one of their best albums. If you came here expecting to hear “Heaven” or “Cherry Pie” be prepared to get your ass kicked because this is not what you will be getting.
Track Listing

01. Sex Ain't Love
02. Innocence Gone
03. Snake
04. Dusty's Revenge
05. Home
06. What Love Can Do
07. Life's A Song
08. Show Must Go On
09. Cocaine Freight Train
10. Found Forever
11. Candy Man
12. Sunshine


Joey Allen
Jerry Dixon
Robert Mason
Steven Sweet
Erik Turner

Next review: » Warrant - Then and Now
Previous review: » Warrant - Louder Harder Faster

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.