Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

September 2012
Released: 2012, Nuclear Blast
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: UK Team

Witchcraft have become known as somewhat of legends among the Swedish doom scene with previous releases such as; The Self-titled album Witchcraft [2004], Firewood [2005] and The Alchemist [2007]. With a rich back catalogue making for the unique sound of cross over psychedelic/ stoner groove the band are renound for. With the high anticipation for a Label Debut [leaving Rise Above Records] and by Joining Nuclear Blast.

The album itself starts with the detonation fuse burning wit “deconstruction” as the wick of the song burns with much delight among, an array of feedback and crunching distortions with the staple doom-tastic style of Witchcraft. The second track “flag of fate” carries the same flair of sultry vocal hooks and doom breakdowns which sets up the rest of the album to be a traditional sounding Witchcraft one. With the stylisation flowing into the albums most radio friendly track “It’s not because of you” sounding like old familiar artists such as Orange Goblin, Cathedral and formulaic writing styles of Progressive predecessors King Crimson.

With the melody layering styles of “An alternative to Freedom” the listener is dropped off in the middle of a desolate place met by collisions of sandblast sounds from the strong swirls of guitars and thundering drum lines. “Ghost’s house” takes no time to begin the next chapter in the story with the attitude filtering in full swing. The track sounds like a cross between the blues and doom.

The album's second to last track “white light suicide” moves the story on significantly with the momentum behind it to be a fantastic rock arena number but falls short. With the fast paced introduction which falls into becoming a slow moving mammoth with the build down into a stagnant track. However “democracy” ends with great perfection with the progressive and stoner doom crossover, the conclusion to a relatively short album that demands a re-listen straight away.

Review by Ashlinn Nash
Track Listing

1. Deconstruction
2. Flag of Fate
3. It's Not Because of You
4. An Alternative to Freedom
5. Ghosts House
6. White Light Suicide
7. Democracy
8. Dystopia
9. Dead End


Magnus Pelander - Vocals
Ola Henriksson - Bass
Simon Solomon - Guitar
Tom Jondelius - Guitar
Oscar Johansson - Drums

Other reviews

» Legend
by UK Team

Next review: » Witchcurse - Heavy Metal Poison
Previous review: » Witchburner - Blasphemic Assault

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.