Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

The Purple Album
June 2015
Released: 2015, Frontiers Records
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Waspman

The ever-busy David Coverdale has kept the venerable Whitesnake moving along at a break-neck pace the last few years. After amicably parting ways with guitarist Doug Aldrich a few years ago, the ‘Snake promptly poached Night Ranger six-stringer Joel Hoekstra and set to work on this new album. Perhaps feeling reflective after the passing of Jon Lord, Coverdale’s seen fit to pay tribute to his Deep Purple past by covering a selection of songs from his tenure in that band (meaning the albums BURN, STORMBRINGER, and COME TASTE THE BAND). The thirteen tracks offered up cover much of the expected musical ground, serving as a “best of” for the MK3 and MK4 years of Deep Purple.

The first thing I noticed when listening to this album was that the sound and production crush the original versions of the mid-‘70s. That might seem like an obvious statement given the technology advancements in album production since then, but the powerful sound on these tracks really makes them sound fantastic. The next point folks will want answered is this: YES, the songs do sound a bit different from their original versions. Whether it is more reliance on guitar over Hammond organ, or simply Coverdale singing a Glenn Hughes song, things are obviously somewhat changed from the ‘70s.

With all of that said, THE PURPLE ALBUM is an unqualified success. Every single song sounds great and is performed flawlessly. Coverdale sounds great and after 40 years has nothing left to prove. As for the band, the classic Purple guys are obviously missed, but the Whitesnake crew do an admirable job and definitely do the songs justice. Most of the songs are heavier than the originals, which is awesome, but it’s actually the quieter songs that shine (an acoustic “Sail Away”, “Soldier of Fortune”), along with a monstrous take on the bluesy epic “Mistreated”.

There’s already been a lot of Internet-based bitching about this album (what a shock!), but to my ears THE PURPLE ALBUM is an excellent revitalisation of some classic material.
Track Listing

1. Burn
2. You Fool No One
3. Love Child
4. Sail Away
5. The Gypsy
6. Lady Double Dealer
7. Mistreated
8. Holy Man
9. Might Just Take Your Life
10. You Keep On Moving
11. Soldier of Fortune
12. Lay Down Stay Down
13. Stormbringer


David Coverdale: Vocals
Reb Beach: Guitar
Joel Hoekstra: Guitar
Michele Luppi: Keyboards
Michael Devin: Bass
Tommy Aldridge: Drums



Next review: » Who Cares - Who Cares
Previous review: » Whitesnake - The Definitive Collection

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.