Free Metal E-Mail

New Users Sign Up

Connect. Befriend. Follow.

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Live In The Still Of The Night (DVD)
April 2006
Released: 2006, Hip-O Records
Rating: 4.5/5
Reviewer: Celtic Bob

My first introduction to Whitesnake was many years ago when BonJovi hosted a video show called ‘The Beat’ and played the video for “Love Ain’t No Stranger”. It was from that moment I began to like this band. It wasn’t much after this that we saw the infamous video for “Here I Go Again” which ended up getting played to death by every video show and channel in the world. It was that video that made them a household name.

Sonically and visually this disc is above par. The DTS mix sounds great and is mixed really well. The picture is crisp and clear and filmed really well. There are a few different camera angles but it’s pretty standard for the most part.

Song wise there is something from every era of DC’s career including a medley of a couple of Deep Purple tracks. All the classics sound fresh and new as David has some fantastic musicians backing him up. The dual guitar attack of Reb Beach and Doug Aldrich is nothing to complain about. Both are amazing players and it clearly shows during the performance. It is too bad that we don’t get to see Reb pull off a major solo. David’s voice is just as strong now as it was many years ago, if not stronger. He is truly a singer’s singer.

Filmed back in 2004 this live concert proves naysayers wrong, this band still has what it takes to go out there night after night and put on a powerful show that will impress anyone.

Next review: » Whitesnake - Live In '84: Back to the Bone (CD)
Previous review: » Whitesnake - Live At Donington-1990

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.