Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Vertigo-The Story Of Vincent O'leary
March 2011
Released: 2011, Vinder Records
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: JP

Germany’s Vinder, not to be confused with Slovakia’s Vindex, have waited a full five years before releasing their sophomore effort, VERTIGO. Not the most productive band having formed a decade ago, the band consists of two or three dudes from Tyran Pace. That’s pretty cool, because most people know Tyran Pace because of the Ralf Scheepers connection, but it’s good to see the other guys still making music after all these years.

What first caught my ears were the smooth, Maiden-esque guitar harmonies and melodies. Right off the bat (after a brief Sci-Fi style futuristic vocal effect intro) the band launches into an instrumental ‘The Letter’ which could have fit nicely on SOMEWHERE IN TIME. Things pick up slightly in terms of pace and intensity when the cut bleeds into the song proper (called Dark Horizon) and the vocals kick in, but for the most part the band plays a very melodic and listenable style of Metal. The songs are punchy, fast and laced with melody like the instrumental title track, ‘Vertigo’.

My initial impression was the band was that Vinder was unremarkable but I kept coming back to the album engaged mostly by the strong song-writing. The vocals of Dirk Schaffner are excellent, clean and clear, much like his vocal work with The Armada, another chronically unproductive German band. He hits some lower lows than I have heard him sing before and he sing with conviction and authority. I feel he has a commanding vocal presence.

The band has presented a concept album, the story of a character named Vincent o’leary. It is a darker story about madness, mirrors, death and insanity. which is left quite open to interpretation, although the overall concept reminds me of something King Diamond might come up with. The website has a quite interesting visual story to accompany the album.

The number of quality riffs, the rock-solid production and performances and the above average vocals, keep drawing me back to this album, which upon initial impression was favourable but not blown-away. Give this album a fair shake and I think you will find something quite special here.
Track Listing

1. The Letter / Dark Horizon
2. Where Evil Dwells
3. Face In The Mirror
4. In My Head
5. Vertigo
6. Funny Games
7. Secret Door
8. Diary Of A Child
9. The Reckoning / It's Me


Dirk Schäffner - Vocals
Oliver Kaufmann - Guitar
Foti Stammler - Guitar
Thomas Mössinger - Bass
Ralf Schulz - Drums

Next review: » Vindex - No Middle Ground
Previous review: » Vince Neil - Tattoos and Tequila

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.