Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Vile Vindiction
Moments of Feeble
June 2009
Released: 2009, Self-released
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Luxi Lahtinen

Jim Nickles and his troops hit us back with their 10-song debut album, MOMENTS OF FEEBLE. The band released their self-titled 4-song EP last year on their own, and the fans of 90s style American death metal (ála Malevolent Creation mostly) were obviously the ones who basically found this very potential sounding American death metal act named Vile Vindiction.

All the 4 songs from their EP has also been included in MOMENTS OF FEEBLE, with the addition of 6 brand-new tunes that follow the same set masterplan to crush musically in the spirit of the past times that they started on their EP last year already. Of course Jim´s past experience as a guitarist, has much to do with that fact Vile Vindiction sounds much like they could have recorded their debut album during the 90s heyday of death metal. But that´s the great thing about Vile Vindiction that they can be able to cherish at least a little bit those gone & glory days of death metal.

Starting off the album with "Life Lost", which was one of those four songs on their EP they put out last year, you cannot go wrong with these lads once they start catapulting their songs from their death machine. Song after song, all are based on strong riffage fests, Slayer type short lead attacks, Kris´ immensely powerful death grunts, Vile Vindiction hammer down songs with such a convincing yet scary grip that one may start feeling an urgent need to throw some kudos on a silver plate toward their direction. This is the kind of American death metal I like a lot, and how it should be played - avoiding all these easy traps to sound too modern or too melodic, or just ultra-extreme and ultra-brutal death metal that many bands seem to be keen on doing these days. I also think it´s kinda odd that no label has picked up this fine American death metal band yet even if MOMENTS OF FEEBLE reeks of a bunch of some well-chosen quality words as far as playing death metal overall is concerned. What possible other heavy credentials would they need to convince label owners how damn good they are at what they are doing?

MOMENTS OF FEEBLE is a very strong sounding package of Malevolent Creation/Slayer-tinged death metal for which the Vile Vindiction can be really proud of - and naturally for a good enough reason.
Track Listing

01. Life Lost
02. Puritanical Winterlight
03. Goodbye Morbid World
04. Your Honour
05. Phantom
06. Death Wrapped in Plastic
07. Moments of Feeble
08. Visions
09. My Kingdom Is Flawed
10. Burn Inside


Kris Poole - Vocals
Jim Nickles - Guitar
George Grant - Guitar
Chad Cogar - Bass
Evan Leuer - Drums

Next review: » Vile Vindiction - S/T EP
Previous review: » Vile Insignia - Vile Insignia

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.